Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I felt it was a little thin on the veggies and added more of everything, as well as zucchini because it was cheap/in season (note on the zucchini - wait till last to put them in! They get a bit gooey). I also added tofu instead of chicken... stick the tofu in earlier, when sauteing, or it'll taste really tofu-y . I also cut down the broth by 1/3 - I like my soup to be more stewlike. I also feel you could put in like double the rice, and next time I will. I also plan to add in potatoes and cabbage to make it more filling. I really think you can add any veggies you want and it'll be great. I'm so sick of borscht, so this is my new go-to food for when I'm dead broke. You can pack in a week's worth of food for a single person on around 30-35 bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I added some extra curry and some cheyenne pepper as well. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
delicious soup! i forgot all about the cream but don't think it's needed, when i make it again i will probably do the same. the only thing i added was some crushed pepper flakes since we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a very flavorful soup, good for when you want something a little different but still comforting. You need to use really good quality curry powder. If your grocery store has an Indian food section, get it there rather than in the regular spice aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This soup was delicious and easy to make. I made it for some friends and they were so impressed. Served it with toasted garlic rosemary bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Love this soup! I'm just sitting down with my second bowlful :) The only addition/change I did was to add one sweet potato in chunks. I'm so very warmed up by this soup! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Omitted the rice. Added extra spice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Definitely double! I'm with the others, this is a delicious soup. You could always throw in some extra celery, carrots and onion. I did add a large garlic clove. I also had a couple containers of coconut water as part of the liquid needed. I will definitely add more rice next time. Forgot to take the chicken out of the freezer and it was still yummy delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
10 stars! I think this is the best soup I have ever made! Easy, fairly quick and fabulous! I sent my sister the recipe and she got the same rave reviews from her family! I doubled the curry and it was still not a strong flavor so it appealed to everyone.I used half-n-half to lower the calories a little...might try it without any cream or just use milk. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States