Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
It's really tasty.... I added some whole cloves, cardamom pods, bay leaves, and about a quarter cup of red lentils. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great soup! I was a bit skeptical about apple being in it but it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
One of the best soups I've ever had and so easy to make. I made the full fat version and it was great. Will try one of the low fat versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was great! My two-year old gobbled it up. I skipped the cream and the apple, for sake of time. Homemade chicken broth really does the trick, too! It said 6 servings, but my 3 kids and I barely had enough. Next time I'll add more broth. Very delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Wow.... we have made this soup 3 or 4 times and it's spectacular everytime. You can go light on the cream or use half and half if you want to keep the calories down too. Less cream makes very little difference in taste in my opinion. The one thing I would suggest is to consider 'heat" levels. Curry Powder is available in Mild, Medium and Hot. we have made this soup with Mild and Medium to date and both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKR
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This soup is out of this world tasty - I make it often and always as a double batch so some can be kept in the freezer. I always add a Sweet Potato - it melts in and makes for a nice hearty soup. I have never added cream and have not missed it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My family loves this soup! I usually double or triple the recipe and freeze individual servings for lunch. Instead of the 11/2 tsp of curry powder I increase to 1 tbs for just a little spice. I have also experiment alot with this recipe and use coconut oil instead of butter and coconut milk in place of cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I make this soup any chance I get, and this recipe is almost too good for words other than, "Mmmmm..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was an excellent base but not spicy enough for my palette. I made the recipe as written then added a few more spices. When I added the flour and curry, I also added Turmeric and a dash of nutmeg. Toward the end of cooking I added a little ground coriander seed, a little cayenne and some Garam Masala. It was perfect and soul satisfying. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orion the Hunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I love this recipe and it's become somewhat of a staple in our house. Because we eat low carb, I leave out the flour and rice. I usually end up adding more of the meat and veggies. Once I did accidentally use cayenne pepper instead of the red curry powder I have. While the first bite was quite a shock, it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. It was spicy, but not too bad; and the taste was actually still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States