Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Amazing recipe! Next time I'll double the recipe. Soup got better the longer it was in the fridge. Picked up some authentic nan bread from Costco. It made the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Loved this. We added more curry during cooking and some cilantro and lime at the end. Will defiantly be on the remake list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We loved it. I did follow others' suggestions and doubled the curry. Actually doubled the entire recipe too. (But DO double the curry) I used homemade chicken stock. My husband thought it was REALLY good. He interrupted me to tell me how much he loved it. Good enough for me! I am SO making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I found this better than I expected. I too made some changes out of necessity on what I had at the time or because I didn't want to waste something. I used 1 cup each of carrots, celery and onions. I had a leek getting old so I used about a third of that. I doubled the curry out of suggestions from the other reviewers. I used one whole granny smith apple. To my surprise I like the small chunks of apple in this recipe and wished I had more apple in there. Pleasantly surprised by this recipe. My chicken was dark meat because that is what I had. Its good without the cream, but I liked it with cream even better. Its a keeper and if I had a restaurant this one would be on the menu or on the soup bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have never tried nor heard of a soup like this. I'm really glad I made it, as we all enjoyed it. I made exactly as written, only I made a double batch. I think this is a soup that gets better the longer it sits. It does congeal somewhat when refrigerated, but reheats nicely with more flavor than the first time around. I served this with 'Sweet Cornbread Cake' from AR and we had a delicious meal on a snowy, cold Indiana night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. As others have already posted, you can easily double the spice and use an entire apple. You can also use an immersion blender after step 1 and reduce the cream for a healthier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This soup was incredibly flavorful and delicious! I would certainly make it again. I did all just as stated, only added some extra veggies and apples. I baked a chicken in advance and chopped up the meat to use in the soup (and I also used real chicken stock as the base). We served it with sour cream instead of regular cream, since that is what we had available. I also added a dash or two of white wine vinegar in mine, since I love my soup with a bit of 'tang'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My husband raves about this soup! We left out the heavy cream, based on some reviews. If you like curry, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I love this soup at my favourite Indian restaurant, and reading this recipe sounded the closest to what I experienced there. I made the following modifications, brought it to a pot-luck at work and had people seek me out for who made it (and the recipe). So here it is! 1) I doubled the recipe, which then would call for 3 tsp of curry powder total 2) I didn’t use the yellow curry powder most people have. Instead I made my own from an Indian vindaloo recipe I make. ½ tsp each of brown mustard seed, cumin seed, black peppercorn (use mortar and pestle, or as I do, a cheap coffee grinder used only for spices) – add ½ tsp of ginger, 1 tsp of turmeric (will give the soup a nice color), 1 tsp of garam masala. My curry powder totals 4 tsp instead of 3, but I like the flavour at that intensity. For optional heat I recommend 2-4 dried red chili pepper be added to the seed/peppercorn mix when breaking them up. 3) I precut the chicken and stir fried it in a portion of the butter – makes it firmer on the exterior that way so it doesn’t break down so easily in the soup. 4) I added lemon. Most soups I’ve had like this had actual lemon in it, but I cheated and just squirted in some real lemon – amount to taste. 5) After making let cool and re-heat the following day, adding cream at last moment as per recipe. All curry based recipes are better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I felt it was a little thin on the veggies and added more of everything, as well as zucchini because it was cheap/in season (note on the zucchini - wait till last to put them in! They get a bit gooey). I also added tofu instead of chicken... stick the tofu in earlier, when sauteing, or it'll taste really tofu-y . I also cut down the broth by 1/3 - I like my soup to be more stewlike. I also feel you could put in like double the rice, and next time I will. I also plan to add in potatoes and cabbage to make it more filling. I really think you can add any veggies you want and it'll be great. I'm so sick of borscht, so this is my new go-to food for when I'm dead broke. You can pack in a week's worth of food for a single person on around 30-35 bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States