Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This seems to be a tame mulligatawny, suitable for the curry averse. I took the advice from other reviewer and tripled (!) the spice. I knew one & one half teaspoons was no where near enough for me & my guests. There seemed to be little broth so I opted out of the rice and added more chicken & apple. Like some other reviewers, I recommend doubling the recipe & using coconut milk. I'm glad I found this because until now I had no idea what mulligatawny was, how embarrassing. Thanks Lise P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really Tasty! I added a little more than it called for of carrots, rice, apple. (I omitted celery because I don't like it) My whole family (three young children and husband!) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was such a huge hit with my kids (Chicken Soup with Rice!) that my 8-year-old actually prayed that night that we would have it for dinner again the next day. Absolute winner. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I loved this soup, the only thing I change wasIi used fat free half and half instead of cream and it was awesome! I gave some to my neighbor and she loved it too.The longer it sits the better it gets. The next day it reminded me of Paneras chicken w/ wild rice! So Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Really good! I added some mushrooms and banana peppers to the saute - great on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Arlington

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Delicious! Recipe is perfect as is, although you can leave out the cream if you want to cut back on the fat. It's still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Delicious! Added about 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper at the suggestion of reviewers, which made it pretty darn spicy! Will make again--perfect for the coldest day so far this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent. My family of 3 finishes this entire recipe as 1 meal, so doubling is recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Fantastic basic recipe. I doubled it as suggested by others. Used extra chicken (not needed) and added Garam Masala. Excellent flavor. I also bought pre-cut carrot and celery sticks that I ran through the food processor as a time saver. Then used the food processor to chop the onion and shred the apple - quick and easy! Added brown rice at the same time as the broth and just let it simmer until done. Also, for those that are lactose intolerant....I used 2% Lactaid instead of heavy cream. Probably not as rich, but it smoothed out the soup very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe!! Next time I would definitely not add the apple. I added two tablespoons of curry powder instead and some extra chicken. and towards the end I used sour cream..best part of it all! Also, I squeezed some lemon once the soup was done and that really added to the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States