Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is my all time favorite soup to make. I can't say enough good things about this recipe. I will throw in some extra veggies if I have any in the fridge. And I use two heaping teaspoons of curry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This soup was amazing! After reading several reviews and knowing that i like a lot of spice in my food, I changed the amount of curry powder to 2tbs (I used hot madras curry powder) and added 1tbs of garam masala. I also used 3 cloves of garlic. I used basmati rice instead of white (as should be used in all Indian dishes) and i used half chicken stock and half chicken broth (just what i had on hand). I didn't have any cream so i added a little yogurt in one bowl and tried another bowl without it and it was actually much better without adding it. The yogurt took some of the spice and flavor away from the soup. I'm going to be getting some cream tomorrow so I will try that and see if it changes the flavor for the better but for how great it tasted without adding anything i don't know if that's possible! I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I made this recipe two days in a row for dinner! My fiance absolutely loved it! He is not a big fan of soup but this recipe convinced him to have it again the next day. I definitely added more curry powder, and used saltless chicken broth because it gave me a better idea of how much salt I want. The heavy cream at the end is a must in my opinion. It makes the soup more wholesome. Next time I am going to try it with some crusty bread or roti. I added cumin powder and instead of dried thyme I used fresh thyme. I added about a half a teaspoon of thyme when I poured the broth to the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I liked this soup, but my kids did not. I used dairy substitute, and found it essential to the flavor of the soup. Otherwise it is boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made this today and I think it's a great soup Next time I will only use one Tbs of rice for me 1/4 cup was alot of rice Tasts great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
WOW! This soup is fantastic! I ended up doubling the recipe. I also added twice the amount of curry powder that is called for. It turned out wonderfully! Make sure to add the heavy cream, it makes this soup soooo yummy and creamy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
added chickpeas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This seems to be a tame mulligatawny, suitable for the curry averse. I took the advice from other reviewer and tripled (!) the spice. I knew one & one half teaspoons was no where near enough for me & my guests. There seemed to be little broth so I opted out of the rice and added more chicken & apple. Like some other reviewers, I recommend doubling the recipe & using coconut milk. I'm glad I found this because until now I had no idea what mulligatawny was, how embarrassing. Thanks Lise P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really Tasty! I added a little more than it called for of carrots, rice, apple. (I omitted celery because I don't like it) My whole family (three young children and husband!) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was such a huge hit with my kids (Chicken Soup with Rice!) that my 8-year-old actually prayed that night that we would have it for dinner again the next day. Absolute winner. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States