Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Yummmm! Try it with a dollop of plain yogurt; so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This soup is THE BEST chicken soup ever! Even my husband liked it and he's very picky. This is going to be my go-to chicken soup from now on. No more grandma's chicken soup!! The only thing I did differently was I made the rice separately so everyone can add as much or as little as they wanted and I omited the cream because I didn't have it on hand. It was still superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugabugl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Super easy to make, and of course with that much butter how could it not be yummy. I sauteed the chicken breasts whole (used 3 instead of 2 for a double batch) before sweating the veggies. I shredded the chicken and added it back once I added the stock. I prefer the chicken shredded, since it doesn't seem to get as dried out. Used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream, but next time I think I'll cut the butter in half and use coconut milk. Overall, very yummy soup and going to be a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent. Used olive oil instead of butter. Soup tastes good with or without cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
SO SO YUMMY! I have to say though, I have yet to fully try the whole recipe. I made this when these when all I had was apples, carrots, potatoes, and chicken and was looking for a recipe that used them. I added in the potato, thinly sliced, with the carrots and didn't add the rice or celery. I didn't have the cream either. It was so good that I've made that again instead of trying the actual recipe. But the base for this is fantastic! I LOVE the apples. I think I'll add more next time. They add such a unique flavor, a little surprise. Wonderful. Will be making this one for a LONG time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am just in the process of making the soup now, so far so good! I did forget chicken broth at the store but it did not seem to matter; I just used water and a little extra salt and little garlic powder. Also I used green curry, which is my favorite, and added chopped zucchini with the apples (a vegetable that I love to have with green curry). This is a fantastic soup! P.S. I cooked my rice separately just to be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was good, but definitely needs some tweaks. Next time I would add garlic and potatoes, and more chicken and carrots. Maybe some lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
SO GOOD! I did make several tweaks to the recipe to make it more to my taste. I replaced the butter with olive and the rice with quinoa (turned out fantastic). I cut the heavy cream out completely and the product was still very thick and not at all runny. I didn't miss it at all. As others have said, I do think you need to double the recipe if you want leftovers (you will want leftovers! This stuff gets much better as time goes on!). Also, I didn't like the texture of the cooked apple so I grated it instead (1 apple gave around 1/4 c). I also added 1 tsp of sugar at the very end to give it a bit of a sweeter taste. Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hermiod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I cheated and used already cooked meat from a store-bought rotisserie chicken! :) I 86'd the heavy cream and the flour. Also, I used wild rice instead of white. All these changes turned this into a lovely, brothy, warming, healthful, wonderful bowl of soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
omg soup, i treated it more like a Indian curry though, added extra curry, cayene, gram Marsala, chili pepper sauce....yummy in my tummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 819) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States