Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
My friend served me this soup at her house in MI, and it melted in my mouth! I couldn't wait to get back to TX and make it for my own family! We love soups, but I had been looking for something new. This soup is so unique and different! My only suggestion is to triple the recipe... This recipe as is will not actually feed six. For my family of seven, I triple it! Add a salad and some bread, and you have the perfect comfort meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Trying a new soup each week for 2012 might be difficult, but with recipes like this I am really looking forward to try new soups! I changed this up a bit as the original taste did not have enough flavor to my liking. I did not add the chicken, I doubled the curry and the rice. After letting it set over night, it was even better the next day for lunch. I finely cut the apple to help eliminate the chunks and I also added extra veggies. This is one of the better soups I have ever tried. I also added some red pepper flakes like someone else suggested to add some heat. Not sure if soup 3 of 2012 can beat this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe!! It's easy to make and extremely delicious! It tastes even better the next day! The only change I have made was an increase in the curry powder (upped the amount to 2 tbsp) just because I love curry. I read the reviews and might try the coconut milk substitution next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is 5 stars with a couple of "tweaks". I made it following the recipe as written and found it lacking a little in curry flavor. Then I doubled the curry and added a few red pepper flakes, yum!!!! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent with no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! A very filling meal with baguette and cheese. I used 4 skinless chicken thighs and put them in the pot whole because I like the flavor the bones give. I removed the meat from the bones and put it back in the pot after cooked. I used brown rice instead of white and 14% sour cream instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this at my husbands request, but wasn't sure if I'd like it. It turned out really good and will become a regular in my house. The flavors were not very mild and built up more with each bite, just getting better! I highly recommend making it. I only changed 2 very small things. I used brown rice flour to make it gluten free, and also used leftover rotisserie chicken instead of a breast. My husband did say I should add a little more rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great healthy ethnic soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this soup for the family Christmas Celebration and it was a big hit. They were scraping the bottom of the pot! I made it exactly as the recipe is written except I doubled it and used 2 apples and 2 tblsp of curry powder. The family said I should open a soup shop and be the Soup Nazi like on Sienfeld. Everyone wanted the recipe! Thank you so much for this yummy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States