Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Delicious! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used more chicken stock (used a 49 oz can). I added a little more curry powder because of that, and I added a bit of basil to it to sweeten it up a bit. I used 2% milk instead of cream. It was so good. I eat this soup at a local restaurant regularly and this was just as good. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I love indian food so after making this recipe I think this is more for an irish person. The soup turned out very bland just like normal chicken soup. Luckily I had a whole day to think of what I should do to make it better. We had a soup party to go to the next day. I had to double the indian spices which included ground cumin, red chili pepper and tumeric. Also added was fresh coriander on top and 3/4 can of coconut milk. It really needs the coconut milk to make this soup exotic rather than plain chicken soup. See Emeril's version. He adds so much extra to his Mulligatawny that this recipe on this page lacks in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This soup is so delicious and easy to make. This is now one of my top 5 soup recipes (we like soup). I cut the butter in half and didn't use quite all of the cream because we're watching our calories, but I don't think it affects the flavor at all. The kids like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
great recipe. thank you! family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Sorry, did not like this. I have many other soups with similar ingredients that I would prefer to use. I think the flour (which I've never seen in Indian dishes) gave it a bad taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is the best soup I've ever made! So satisfying. A real comfort food. I made it exactly as written....but chilled it overnight and removed the cold butter that had floated to the top. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very tasty. To make this vegetarian, grate a fresh tomato into it to give some flavor and use water instead of chicken broth, and just leave the chicken out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
SLOW COOKER METHOD ~ I decided to make this in the slow cooker. The vegetables (Celery, Onion, Carrots and Haricot Verts as well as the 1/2 apple) Sauteed these for about 10 minutes with garlic, thyme, curry powder and black pepper until just softened (I used a little olive oil spray not the butter like the recipe stated), then added the rice to the pan to help to brown this a little and allow it to soak up more flavoring. Added the vegetables/rice to the slow cooker along with 5 chicken breasts and 6 cups of chicken stock. I DID NOT use the heavy cream or the flour. Cooked on slow for 7 hours. This really was a delicious and very easy soup, next time I think I will add just slightly more curry powder (or maybe a hot curry powder) and a little fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good recipe! I was looking to duplicate the soup at my favorite restaurant so I made this with a few changes. I made my own broth with a couple of chicken thighs, added some chopped red and green peppers and left out the salt, butter, flour and didn't have any heavy cream. Instead I added a can of cream of chicken soup (lowerfat & sodium) and cooked the rice separately. If you are not accustomed to curry, add a little at a time and test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 796) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States