Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
If you like curry flavor even a little, you should stop what you are doing and make this right now! I've had it for lunch and dinner yesterday and today and will probably be making more in a day or so! I had two small changes...used shallots (half the amount of onion called for) and made broth with veggie buillon cubes, mostly because it was all I had. I also omitted the cream. I'm sure it would have been delicious but I didn't need it and it was amazing anyways. The only tiny thing wrong was it was a little on the salty side, but that is mostly my fault because I committed the cardinal sin of not tasting before seasoning. So make sure you definitely test before you salt, especially if you are trying to watch your salt intake. This is sure to become a regular recipe in my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe turned out great! The only things I did different were to add the chicken cubes after the rice had a few minutes to cook so they did not over cook and I didn't have any heavy cream so I served it with a small spoon of Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was so delicious! Other than using half and half instead of full cream and adding some salt I followed the recipe as is and it was de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Didn't use the apple, and cut the curry down to 1/2 tsp, and was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Higgins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
EXCELLENT!!!!! I added a litlle extra curry because my family likes the flavor, but; this is phenomenal! I agree with other reviewers, make an extra batch (double the recipe) because we only got three bowls out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
The recipe was very good. I used Basmati rice and curry powder from Jamaica. I would definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holtsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Really nice soup! I did everything as stated except added a clove of garlic and used coconut milk instead of the cream. The measurements were right on. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
We all loved this soup! I agreed with everyone that said to add more curry. I used curry paste instead of powder and pureed the celery, onions and carrots to make a smoother soup (picky kids). I served it with a loaf French bread and it was a good, filling supper. I will make this again for sure. Only problem was there were no left-overs for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Love it. This has become a staple in our house and I've taken it to a couple "soup parties" where guests have raved about it. Only changes we've made is that I use quinoa instead of rice, and I usually make it the night after we've had a roasted chicken for dinner so I use those left overs instead of using just chicken breast. Also I typically quadruple the recipe- so that there are plenty left over to freeze and have the next week or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
In a word...awesome!! I pureed the veggies and broth after Step 1 so my veggie-phobic son would still try it; and it was a hit. I'm glad I made a double batch, because it's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 841) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States