Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Most of the family loved it! My daughter thought it was too spicy, but my wife, son and I loved it. Made it with a few changes, but I am sure this is excellent as written. Changes I made were that I doubled the recipe and doubled the rice used because 1/2 cup didn't seem enough. I used about 1/2 Tbsp Yellow Curry, about 1 Tbsp Garam Masala, about 1/2 Tbsp Red Curry and about a teaspoon of Tumeric. Will definitely make again, but I will not make my change of doubling the rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Loved it! I used 2 tsp curry powder, 1 tsp coriander, 1/4 cayenne pepper, 1/4 mustard seed. I left out the cream entirely just using chicken broth. I added a dollop of nonfat plain greek yogurt in each serving and it was the BOMB, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Only change I make is 1tbls of hot curry. My favorite soup period, for those who say ommit the heavy whipping cream for less calories are INSANE. While good without it, i would drive an hour roundtrip if I did not have the whipping cream. It's the icing on the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is my favorite soup. I do double up on the veggies and curry and cut the cream in half. I also use EVOO instead of butter, but I splurge once in a while :) and use the real deal! I also sub a dollop of plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream to finish. This soup gets better so even though you will want to eat it right away let it stand a day or two and you will be amazed on how delicious it becomes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Call me crazy but I eliminated the curry. This was amazing and loved by all, several asked for the recipe. I personally like the protein combo of 1/2 bulk sausage and 1/2 chicken (6oz each) which admittedly makes it less healthy but wildly flavorful. We doubled all the veggies and rice to create a very hearty and very flavorful soup. As mentioned, I eliminated the curry completely along with the cream to save a few calories. Also tripled the thyme. Amazing hearty soup for the whole family. Flavor does develop and next day really is as good if not better. This has a long future for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for company without trying it first due to the nearly unanimous 5-star rating and was not disappointed. Everyone loved it! After reading the comments, I doubled the curry powder and used half and half with great results. Also, after I added the rice and apples, I transferred it to a crock pot and kept in on low for a couple of hours, which worked fine. This will definitely be in heavy rotation at our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I didn't change that much because it didn't need it. The changes I made were minor and in no way compromised this dish. I used wild rice instead of white rice and half and half instead of cream. The minute you start adding other ingredients and eliminating others,it no longer becomes Mulligatawny Soup. This a favorite for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Doubled recipe, my half and half was sour, so I skipped it and it was delicious without cream. I did take some soup and puree it and add it back to thicken. Added a few extra mushrooms and spinach. Used half brown and half white rice. Next time, I would increase the veggie to chicken ratio. Husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Outstanding. Of course it tastes better with homemade chicken broth. I also used two apples and added reduced fat coconut milk instead of cream. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This soup was absolutely delicious! Don't let the picture deter you from trying it...it did not look particularly appetizing to me; however, I will be making this again! Perfect for the workweek or for dinner at home! Give it a try--you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States