Mulberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a very good mulberry pie. My family and I liked it, and we do not like plain mulberries alone. I think it is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
What a great recipe to make use of our Mulberries, tastes very similar to a combination of blueberries and rasberries - will make again!! I made this a double crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Yum! This is sooooo good. We have mulberry trees everywhere around us just growing on the sides of the country roads. I had never used them before. I soaked the mulberries in water overnite and washed them well in a colander the next morning to get all the bugs off. I will be picking and freezing all I can so we can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This pie is really good. I'm not entirely fond of mulberries, but still really enjoyed the pie. I think raspberries would also work well with this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing Bev T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I just can't say enough about this pie! I made it tonight as dessert for dinner with friends and it was AMAZING! Easily the best pie I've ever had, and my family loves pie. It was just the right combination of tangy and sweet, and my friends raved about it. I think this will be a regular on the menu as long as I can get hold of mulberries and rhubarb. I did tweak it slightly. I used 2.5 cups of mulberries and about 4 cups of diced rhubarb (had a lot on hand), only 3/4 cup of brown sugar and about 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour to the filling. I let it sit for about 3 hours before filling and baking the pie. I used store bough crusts this time, but it still turned out amazing. I would gladly recommend this recipe and will be making it throughout the season! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellymayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbyV
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
YUMMY!! This is the best pie that I have ever made. I increased the berries and rhubarb by 1/2 cup. I used 1/2 c. sugar and 1/2 c. splenda. It was plenty sweet. I also heaped the 1/4 c flour to make sure it wasn't runny with the additional fruit. This is now a family favorite!! If you love a slightly sweet/slightly tart pie, this is the one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very, very good! I wish I had taken a photo! We had an abundance of mulberries and this was an excellent way to use them up. We paired it with a flaky whole wheat crust and ate it hot out of the oven. I bet it would be scrumptious with some vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
We picked a lot of mulberries at a friend's house, but none of us really liked them too much. I thought putting them in a pie with something else would help, so I tried this. It is outstanding! It tastes like neither mulberries or rhubarb, and we loved it. Dicing the rhubarb is a great improvement over cutting it in big chunks the way people seem to do with strawberry rhubarb pie. I did cut the sugar back to 3/4 c because 1 1/2 c seemed like too much for four cups of fruit. I also added a few dashes of salt. Be prepared to spend a long time removing stems from your mulberries! I wasn't sure if it would be worthwhile, but this is probably the best pie I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This far surpassed what I was expecting. It makes the purple fingers from picking and nipping worthwhile. The combination of rhubarb and Mulberries creates the best flavor! I freeze a pie's worth in a freezer bag and grab one out of the freezer and let it thaw in the fridge throughout the winter. All you need then in to pour it in a crust and bake away! Pure Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Thanks to the wonders of nature, a mulberry tree has grown on our property with this being the first year with fruit. Since my husband loves rhubarb pie I thought this would be a good recipe to try. I took it to a dinner at our neighbors and everyone loved the taste and the beautiful color. Next time I make it I may add more rhubarb to make it a bit more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States