Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I just made this today, and it was great. I too cut back the suager to 1 cup and used 2/3 cup of flour. I did not put the pie in the fridge or use milk (cuz I forgot about that part) and this is delicious!! I used my own crust too. Oh, and I did not remove the stems!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I rated this 5 stars based on the reaction of my family. They all really liked it and I thought it was really good, but it is way too sweet for me. Next time I will reduce the sugar. I also increased the flour to 1/2 cup which was a mistake, I should have only increased it to 1/3 cup. Thanks for the recipe, I love having a use for all those pesky mulberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe turned out pretty good, my husband really liked it too! I made my own pie crust. I used just slightly less than a cup of sugar and just slightly more than 1/4 cup flour for the filling. I let it cool about 2 hours. It wasn't runny at all and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
After reading a bunch of the reviews, I tried this recipe. It's pretty good...didn't care for the stems, tho'...I made it with only 3/4 cups of sugar, and since I didn't have any other spices, I used a commercially-made "apple pie spice"...think next time I will cut off the stems, use a full level cup of sugar, and the juice from 1/2 of a lemon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very Good! It is runny. I took a glass jar and I tipped the pie up a bit and let the juice pour into the jar. I used the extra juice to put into my Ice Cream! I am going to use less sugar next time as well! This is so good! I love Mulberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Thanks for this recipe. We have two mulberry trees and used the fresh mulberries to make a pie. It was the best one my kids ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letitsnow!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was great. I about doubled the filling though, I like a lot of fruit. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon, too. This is so amazing still warm with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My sweet little 5 year old informed me that he was going to pick mulberries so I could make a pie. Well, we only had 2 cups worth, so I added 1 cup chopped strawberries. I used 1/2 cup flour, 3/4 cup sugar, and maybe 1/4 tsp chinese five spice. I also cooked at 350 for 45 minutes. Also used Pilsbury crusts, just unroll and use. My only complaint is that I would have liked more filling, so will probably use 5 cups of fruit next time. Good recipe for my first Mulberry Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I just made this pie and served it to my husband and parents-in-law, and they loved it (and my mother-in-law is not one to dish out the praises when it comes to other people's cooking)! So, it was a big hit! I did use some of the comments made by other users. My mulberries were very juicy, so I added extra flour, and I also added a dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, and allspice as suggested by Pixilix. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 2/3 cup, however I think I would prefer it just a little bit sweeter, so will up the amount to 3/4 cup of sugar next time. I also used a tart pastry crust using flour, butter and egg yolk, which came out just wonderfully -- tasty and flaky, and beautifully golden brown -- and brushed the top of the crust with milk and sprinkled it with raw cane sugar. Tasty and pretty! I will definitely be making this pie again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This is the BEST pie that my husband has ever had. I altered the receipe a bit based on everyone's comments. I used 2/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup flour, it made an incredible pie. I let it cool for about 2 hours and it was only a little runny/juice, but my husband thought it was perfect. Thank you Anna I now have a recipe for all those mulberries on our tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States