Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. We have a farm lane that is lined with mulberry trees. The kids wanted to pick them, so I pulled up this recipe. Very yummy! I did not change the ingredients, but next time I might add some cinnamon. Mulberry's are kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historyreader

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe, went light on the sugar, and used a layer of almond paste on the bottom. Great with ice cream! I followed my own advice, but still had liquid to drain off; minor inconvenience. Someone asked about stems - I throw mine in the freezer until I want to bake, then clip them with cuticle sissors as I measure them out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
WOW!!! For all these years these have gone to waste and then.... GREAT pie! Unbelieveable, those stems just disappear. One would not believe that they were left on! As far as harvesting the fruit, I simply spread a couple of sheets on the ground and shook the branches. That may account for the stems "disappearing", in that ONLY the ripe seeds fall from the tree! Great PIE! Served with ice cream, WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is my first pie! I realized a few weeks ago that we had a mulberry tree in the backyard. This was the best recipe I found on any site for a mulberry pie. My husband disagrees, but I think the sugar could have been cut back. I wish I had listened to the reviews. The berry is tart, so I thought it needed all the sugar. Also, I took the stems off, mostly by snipping them off with my fingernail. It's time consuming but worth it I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I've read the reviews - we moved into a new house and are now the proud owners of a mulberry tree. But I'm not sure what you're referring to by "remove the stems" - do you mean the stems that come out or is there a way to remove the entire stem? Everytime I try, it disintegrates...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was absolutely PERFECT!! My kids have been eating the mulberries off of our mulberry tree for years and I just thought this year we'd try to make a pie out of them. I found this recipe and we made it pretty much exactly the way it said and everyone LOVED it!! We ate it warm with Breyer's Homemade Vanilla icecream. It was spectacular!! We did not take the stems off, but I think when I make this for our 4th of July get together I'm going to spend the extra time removing them. The other reviewer was right the stems do soften when cooked, but it's mind over matter when you see them in the pie. There were a few that I picked out and everybody said they would rather not have eaten them. Other wise, thanks for helping me make this amazing pie for the first time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I just made this today, and it was great. I too cut back the suager to 1 cup and used 2/3 cup of flour. I did not put the pie in the fridge or use milk (cuz I forgot about that part) and this is delicious!! I used my own crust too. Oh, and I did not remove the stems!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I rated this 5 stars based on the reaction of my family. They all really liked it and I thought it was really good, but it is way too sweet for me. Next time I will reduce the sugar. I also increased the flour to 1/2 cup which was a mistake, I should have only increased it to 1/3 cup. Thanks for the recipe, I love having a use for all those pesky mulberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe turned out pretty good, my husband really liked it too! I made my own pie crust. I used just slightly less than a cup of sugar and just slightly more than 1/4 cup flour for the filling. I let it cool about 2 hours. It wasn't runny at all and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
After reading a bunch of the reviews, I tried this recipe. It's pretty good...didn't care for the stems, tho'...I made it with only 3/4 cups of sugar, and since I didn't have any other spices, I used a commercially-made "apple pie spice"...think next time I will cut off the stems, use a full level cup of sugar, and the juice from 1/2 of a lemon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States