Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This recipe is absolutely great. I loved this pie and got raved reviews from anyone who tasted it. Can you say delish! I added a half of teaspoon of vanilla cause I'm a vanilla nut that adds it to everything and made my own crust. But i'm sure that this recipe would still be golden without it. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiresholmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
It was a big hit! My husbad, mother and father loved it! When I was out picking all the mulberries, my husband asked what in the world I was doing (he hates mulberries). I told him I was going to make a pie and he started teasing me. He said they are bird food. He mostly does not like them because he farms and they are always tearing these trees out of the hedge rows cause they are so messy. My mom agreed that they are bird food, but their opinions changed when they took a taste and ended up eating an entire slice. They all loved it and my mother was impressed how was it sat up. If I were to change anything I would add more fruit. I actually used 3 1/2 cups instead of 3 (as the recipe calls) and it still could have been fuller. I would also cut back on the sugar, just a little. My husband had it with ice cream and even said he was going to have another slice when he gets home tonight! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Just wow! Now have a way to use some of the thousands of mulberries that fall from our neighbors' tree each year. I will be taking them a slice to show them what mulberries can really do. Made this recipe exactly as written except upped the flour a bit and decreased the sugar to 1 cup as someone had suggested below. It came out perfectly - set and didn't fall and get all watery as I worried it might. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is an amazing recipe, and especially considering that this was my first pie! I didn't use sweet mulberries and was a little concerned about the outcome but the sour sweet taste is what made it so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was an easy recipe. I am not a very good baker. But this was easy and my family loved it. Next time I made it I added a half cup chopped cranberries to it. I had some left from another dish I was making. I love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I used 2/3 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup flour in the mix as suggested by other reviewers, and the consistency and flavor were perfect by my standards. I also added, with hesitancy, a dash of all spice, nutmeg, cinnamon, and clove, and regretted it not for a second; the spices tied it together well. Instead of making one big pie, I made 12 little pies in a muffin tin, with the only adjustment being to bake for 10 or 15 minutes less. This is great for portion control, and for freezer storage, to enjoy well after mulberry season. And don't forget to serve with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Best fruit pie I've ever had, it's not just the mulberries that make it good, the flour-sugar mixture gives the pie a great texture, this is not your typical cloying, gelatinous pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Truly a phenomenal berry pie - I added a dash of lemon juice, but otherwise followed the recipe. I'm not a huge berry pie fan, but we had a load of mulberries from a front-yard tree. De-stemming the berries took a long time, but was worth it for a great pie! It held together well, tasted sweet and tart (not overly sweet), and was complemented perfectly by vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Mulberry Pie is avery nostalgic treat since mulberries are becoming harder to find in our area. (Isn't it interesting when a recipe earns 5-stars "But, I changed everything!")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Very good recipe! I had lots of mulberries my son wanted me to make something with. I made 11 tarts in muffins cups. I halved the flour & sugar, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and left out the butter & milk since I used a strusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States