Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
1/2 cup all-purpose flour 1 cup sugar Works a lot better the way they have it is way to sweet !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe was very enjoyable, and when my cousins came it was a hit. This was the first pie I have ever made. You can keep the stems on (I can imagine it would be annoying to take all of then off). They seem to melt away, and the pie is fine. I would recommend Ruth's Grandma's pie crust with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have used this recipe for years! I lived in a townhouse 4 years ago that had a magnificent mulberry tree in the courtyard. This year my boyfriend and his son picked mulberries for me so that I could bake a pie. I used a pre-made Pillsbury pie crust and I cut the sugar to 1 cup. I forgot to buy milk so I brushed water on the crust and sprinkled it with a thick grained natural sugar. Since my Dad complains about "stems" or "strings" misplaced in several types of berries/green beans (and makes quite a show of extracting them from said dish) I stood at the sink and snipped the stem off of each mulberry with a pair of scissors. I will say that this is an insanely good pie - and is truly seasonal since mulberries become mush if frozen. We tasted the pie this morning and it is divine... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Mulberry season is always my 6 year old daughters favorite season, especially since we have several bushes in our yard. So we are always looking for good mulberry recipes and this one just moved to the top of the list. Thank you for sharing, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I have plenty of mullberries in my yard so i decided to do something with them. I made two pies. I made one like the recipe calls and i altered the other for my father in law. I prefer the altered one. The original is OMG sweet. My kids love it anyway so it's a four star recipe for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welsh, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Evangeline, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this for my parents:) I'm 12 and this was really easy and fun to make. I made it in the morning and it was torture watching it sitting on the bench top thinking I was going to have to wait until dessert. It was so worth the wait though!!! This was the second pie I've made (first one tasted terrible) and I'm really happy with the result! I'm gonna make pie more often:) Best pie I've ever had. My iPad won't let me upload a photo but I would If I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Pretty darn good! Mulberries are really sweet naturally, so I cut back the sugar and add flour. (Otherwise this would be 5 stars!) Thanks for posting this, its very hard to find mulberry recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This pie turned out perfect. I used 4 cups of mulberries (stems removed), 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp lemon juice, 1/3 cup flour. I mixed all that together and put in a homemade pie shell. Put about 1/2 tbsp butter on top. Put top crust on. I made a glaze of powdered sugar and water and drizzled that on top. I always put aluminum foil around the edges to keep them from getting over baked. I remove it after 20 mins. Bake at 425 for 20 mins. and then 350 for 30 mins. I leave my berry pies in the oven after I turn it off. This helps for the filling to thicken but the pie does not get any browner nor bake anymore. Works everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I just used some mulberry jam instead of fresh berries. I made this jam last year and now needed something unique for a family reunion. I just made one and it is great. Used my used my low sugar receipt (4 vs 6 cups of sugar)jam. Use 3 cups of jam and stir in a few tablespoons of flour but don't add in additional sugar. Cooked it via the recipe above. Bought the best pie I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious and easy! Follow BETHYPOOH's advice: 1/3 cup flour and 2/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States