Mulberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
The muffins were excellent. I made alot of revisions to the original recipe, basically using it as a base. Because of some of the other reviews, I used 3/4 C of Sugar and also added 1/4 of Brown Sugar. The muffins were sweet, but we love them that way. Also, I had no applesauce and was about 1/4 cup short on Sour Cream, so I used a whole cup of Peach Yogurt to substitute the additional 1/4 cup os SC and the applesauce. It didn't make the muffins taste at all peachy. After mixing, I thought the mix was a bit thick, so I added about 1/4 - 1/3 cup of the juice from the bowl my mulberrys were in. I think this added alot of extra flaroful. I also added 1tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of cinnamon. Because with all of these revisions, the muffins were super moist, a bit on the dense side, and had a great Mulberry flavor. I made 24 muffins at 2pm, and the next day we only had 3 left. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
these were pretty darn yummy. Next time I think i'll add more berries... or chop mine up first - mine were pretty big so there was only a couple of berries per regular sized muffin. btw - it makes 10 regular sized muffins - at 3 ww pt a piece - but if you substitue splenda for sugar it comes out to 2 :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
Great recipe! Simple, fast, delicious and low fat! I made them in small muffin trays and they make about 24 muffins. You can freeze them and they microwave well or can be heated in a toaster oven. Thanks for this great recipe, Kristen - just what I needed for a mulberry tree bearing too much fruit. Muli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
They were delicious! You can't even tell they are healthy. I replaced the sour cream with Yogurt and the almond extract with 1tsp of vanilla extract just because I didn't have sour cream or almond extract. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Yummy! After reading some of the other reviews, I added 1/4 cup brown sugar, and instead of applesauce I used 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt plus the 1/2 cup of sour cream. I used a full cup of mulberries and sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar before baking. I also just greased the muffin pan and didn't use muffin cups at all. My husband couldn't eat just one, so I had to make another batch (these were supposed to be for breakfast tomorrow!) I made 3 dozen tonight so I would use the mulberries that we picked, and I am planning on freezing some for later. Great muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
These were great! I, too, added 1/4 c brown sugar to the recipe. They were the perfect sweetness with the berries added. I also sprinkled in some cinnamon and nutmeg. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
My picky husband even liked these muffins. I gave this recipe four stars because it wasn't sweet enough for me, but I LOVE how the muffins didn't get dry at all, just nice and moist. They were even better the next day warmed up and topped with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tim@Shenandoah
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Mulberries are very tasty. I don't understand why the birds and deer don't completely de-nude the trees of their fruit. Well, more for me. :-) I substituted the sour cream and skim milk with additional whole milk and apple sauce. I made one batch with a white sugar/butter/flour crumb topping and split the recipe sugar using 1/2 white sugar 1/2 dark brown sugar. Very tasty either way, as the original recipe, or with just about any alterations you care to make to your liking. Simple to make, fun to eat. The only problem I had was that the muffins stuck to the paper cups, but I don't think that had anything to do with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim@Shenandoah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
They didn't last long! For some reason, mine stuck to the paper cups too, but the 3 that I made without the cups came out of the pan wonderfully (I didn't have enough cups). I used blueberry yogart instead of sour cream and apple butter instead of apple sauce, and vanilla. I put in some almonds just to get that almond taste. I also used Splenda and egg subsitute. It was all good! Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swattie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon, instead of sour cream I used fat free vanilla yogurt and I used 3/4-1 cup of mulberries. In addition I used a hand held mixer to add the berries so they would be slightly crushed in smaller pieces. The muffins were a little dense and not sweet enough for me. I think an additional 1/4 cup of white sugar would add sweetness. I also think that with the adjustments I made to the recipe it would be better as a sweet bread loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States