Muffuletta Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
WOW - what a sandwich! We got Italian bread from one of our favorite bakeries and this was fabulous! I threw some kalamata olives into the mix and used high quality meats and cheeses for this. It was very good and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
You'll get much more flavor if you actually mix the olive salad together with the herbs and let it marinate in the fridge prior to making the sandwich. Also, a muffaletta is served on sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
WOW! I thought I'd go out on a whim and try this... I went to the grocery, got home, threw it all together (in no time) and it was GREAT! Instead of olives (don't care for them on sandwiches) I used banana peppers AND I heated it in the over for about 10 mins. so the cheese would melt and the bread would get just a little crispy. Loved it and so did my husband! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made these for the AFC Championship game and they were excellent. I did add a little Italian dressing to the olive mix only because I always do that. They had such a nice flavor! Go Pittsburgh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I hate olives but LOVE this sandwich! I don't use the mozzarella cheese, as the provolone is plenty cheesy enough. You can buy olives already chopped. I cut the finished loaf into 8th's and put on a platter. Guests think I ordered from a gourmet shop!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This sandwich is also delicious if you chop up giardiniera (pickled vegetables) and add in with the olives as the spread. This gives it a bit of kick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
this is my favorite sandwich after eating it, i love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I drizzled the bread with garlic oil, just like I do for my Sub Sandwiches, We really liked these. Thanks, Suzanne, I can now make two sandwiches my Grandchildren rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I'm no muffuletta expert and frankly I don't care if this is authentic or not! This is a great sandwich!! I scaled this down to two servings for Hubs and me. I combined the parmesan, basil, oregano and olives, and just drizzled with enough olive oil to moisten the mixture. For two little sandwiches I thought the amount of basil and oregano (used fresh) might be too much so I scaled that back. I spread it on the bread and layered the rest of the ingredients, using only the provolone and no mozzarella. I wanted this to be a warm sandwich, so I wrapped the loaf in non-stick foil and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. Great sandwich!! We’ll look forward to doing this one again! Thanks, Mary48!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Loved this! I'm not a huge sandwich person, but this was wonderful with some italian soup to accompany it! My husband is not a huge olive fan, so I just made his without and added some pepper on his. Wonderful! Def. a favorite of ours! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States