Muffuletta Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Outstanding sandwich! Took the advice of Culinary Ninja and added the basil, oregano, and Parmesan into the olive mix and let marinate---all the difference in the world!! Brought it from average to outstanding. I did use a jar olive tapenade for speed and ciabatta bread (all I had), and this sandwich is very filling. Definitely a keeper. Will try adding chopped giardiniera into the mix next time and see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogodigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Awesome! Used ciabatta rolls that I had on hand then did as reviews suggested marinated olives, added banana peppers and toasted. Served with Italian soup. I love it when a great recipe and suggestions come together for the perfect meal, even if it is soup and sandwiches, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Loved this. I have made it twice and the second time I toasted the bread with the olive oil on it then added the rest and toasted again in the oven to melt the cheese. I liked it warm better, hubby liked it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
AWESOME!!!!! Made these for Super Bowl Sunday a while back and I am still dreaming about them. Everyone loved these and beg me to make again for get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is a favorite of ours. A great picnic sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
We used pastrami and we made some oregano mayonnaise. We used Boar's Head olive oil dressing. I baked them uncovered on 375 For 12 minutes. The best sandwich I ever made at home. I would add pepperoni next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I used an olive spead instead of sliced olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made a different olive salad for this....Olive Salad for Muffalettas from this site which I slathered in the bottom of a round loaf of Italian bread that I slightly hollowed out and also added to the top of the loaf. In addition to the meats and cheeses in this recipe, I also added some sliced pepperoni and sliced cappicola, and thin sliced red tomatoes. Pressed this huge sandwich down and wrapped in foil for several hours and kept in the fridge. Cut into nice wedges....just delicious! Great to make and take to any event. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I'm no muffuletta expert and frankly I don't care if this is authentic or not! This is a great sandwich!! I scaled this down to two servings for Hubs and me. I combined the parmesan, basil, oregano and olives, and just drizzled with enough olive oil to moisten the mixture. For two little sandwiches I thought the amount of basil and oregano (used fresh) might be too much so I scaled that back. I spread it on the bread and layered the rest of the ingredients, using only the provolone and no mozzarella. I wanted this to be a warm sandwich, so I wrapped the loaf in non-stick foil and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. Great sandwich!! We’ll look forward to doing this one again! Thanks, Mary48!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was a great sandwich. I used sourdough bread because it is my favorite, but otherwise followed the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States