Muffin Frittatas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These are pretty awesome - followed the recipe exactly with the addition of a few slices of chopped bacon. Mine came out a little soggy but I think it was because I overzealously sprayed Pam, worried about what others said about sticking. Absolutely had no issues with sticking - they popped right out. The cheddar is strangely hard to taste (used Crackerbarrel), but these 'muffins' have a nice consistency to them - quite tender and moist. I hate omelets but didn't have a problem with these. I'm excited to try what others have suggested - addition of dill, or feta, mushrooms and spinach (I'd probably saute the mushrooms and spinach first to get rid of the excess moisture). But they are filling and a great breakfast to take to work as they fill you and are mini. I got 12 muffins from this. Couldn't taste the zucchini at all but I think it added a lot of moisture and this would be a great way to hide those veggies from the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
A quick breakfast for me, should make some more tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good, added tomatoes, more onions, and made it in a large pan, which took closer to an hour. It is a good baseline recipe, my boyfriend and I tried it with different salsas and hot sauces. Next time I'm going to add diced jalapenos for a kick! And different flavored cheeses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I used exactly the ingredients called for and was very surprised how different the taste was from an omlet with the same ingredients. I did differ in the preparation, though in that I blended the eggs with an immersible blender and used a coated muffin pan that I had sprayed with canola oil. I served this with "Emily's Famous Hash Browns" from this site and a fruit bowl of tropical fruit mix topped with vanilla yogurt. I received five star compliments. 01/13/2003: I have been making these in a large muffin pan. It is the same recipe except for increasing the cooking time to 30-35 minutes. All this does is satisfy my male ego for a hearty portion on my plate. I have found it is very important to allow about 5 minutes of cooling time before removing the frittatas from the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I thought these tasted good. I was short 1/2 cup of cheese, but it did not seem to be a problem. I like that it had about a cup of mixed vegetables to. What I had a problem with is the texture seemed a tad rubbery and tasted just like an omelet. So, to me it seemed a little extra work to pour it into a muffin pan. I poured them into paper muffin liners. I had a problem with them sinking in the middle quite a bit after cooling. I am not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was the perfect breakfast! I had some fresh red and orange bell peppers, zuchhini, and red onions, all diced finely. I mixed in 4 eggs with a little skim milk and I seasoned with salt and black pepper. Lastly, I stirred in some cheddar cheese. I sprayed the 12 muffin tins with PAM and then I filled each of the tins about 1/4 cup with the egg mixture. They baked up beautifully in 20 minutes. I could see little bubble perking up slowly from the frittatas. The muffins were so pretty with the specks of bright red, green, purple and yellow cheese poking out from all over the muffins. The frittatas popped right out of the muffin tins easily as was the clean up. The veggies were tender but still had a slight crisp. I would suggest dicing the vegetables finely. An excellent choice in getting all the veggies and protein in for a hearty and delicous breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Yum! Even though I just ate eggs for dinner, I sampled part of one of these muffins that I made to take to work for breakfast... I'm already looking forward to tomorrow! I didn't have zucchini so I just used another bell pepper and used green onion since it added a nice color and mellow flavor. Scaled back the cheese so I don't turn into a fatty :) - for six of these, I added fresh dill, per Naples recommendation, and I'm glad I did! My bf can have the 6 without. :) They're cute AND so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe needs to state that a silicone muffin pan is a must! If you make these in a standard dark muffin pan you will just have a mess on your hands. I loaded my pan with non stick spray (after reading the reviews) and I still had a mess! Luckily I was not having company for brunch because I would not have been able to serve them. With that said, they are tasty but stick so bad they don't hold shape and are not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Delicious! I sub out the veggies and use bacon and/or sausage instead. They reheat fabulously. Cleaning the muffin tin.... huge pain but these are great and worth the scrubbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent recipie, will make again.. very easy and quick to make... and great as left over as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States