Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Really good base recipe. I'm not a fan of walnuts so I used almonds instead and for a crispier texture: toast the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious! I'm eating mine now with almond milk. My Trader Joe's didn't have wheat germ or wheat bran, so I added the oat bran, and then supplemented with toasted flax seeds (a la Trader Joe's) that lent the muesli a wonderfully toasted taste. No sunflower seeds - used slivered almonds instead, with raisins and dried cranberries. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicioso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Some cool mix-ins to try. Date crumbles from the bulk dept..left over canned pumpkin (just a spoon or two) is delicious. My all-time FAVE is leftover baked squash. When I have leftover butternut squash, I put a couple spoons-full in each of several covered individual tupperware-type bowls, add the muesli mix, milk (as I HATE yogurt) and a tiny drizzle of mable syrup. Put the lids on the bowls and grab on the way out the door each morning. Tastes like Autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I've never had muesli before but I love granola so I gave this a try. It's very versatile. I did a google search on muesli and found that most people soak it in yogurt (with a little apple juice or milk to thin it out) overnight and they add fresh grated apple. This was a delicious breakfast that kept me full all morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is a great recipe, although too sweet for what I've become used to in Europe. I omitted the sugar and walnuts and added 1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts instead. My favorite way is to have more of a toasted flavor, so I toast the hazelnuts and also add 1/2 cup toasted coconut and 1/2 cup toasted slivered almonds. I also add a 1/2 cup each of dried blueberries and cranberries. The great thing about making your own muesli is that you can customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
When I first made this I pretty much followed the recipe exactly but found it too green tasting. I doubled the sugar (1 tbsp per servings isn't so bad) and found it much, much tastier. Eat this with yogurt and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
great muesli even my boys love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I am admittedly not much of a healthy food person, although I'm trying to watch my calories and at least start the day off well. I made this and first tried it with plain yogurt and some added fruit, as some reviewers suggested, and I thought it was so disgusting I almost threw away the whole container of muesli. I calmed down and later tried it cooked like regular oatmeal, and it was MUCH better. I'm not even much of an oatmeal fan but this made it quite a bit tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Thanks for this base recipe. I've only made it once, and I adapted it according to what I had on hand, but I'll spare you the details. Others have already written enough. I wanted to contribute some information which I discovered in a google search: the traditional Swiss way to prepare muesli is to soak it overnight in milk, water, or fruit juice in a covered bowl. In the morning, the dry ingredients will have softened considerably and will be easier to digest. Add your fresh fruit du jour, and voilà! A moist, flavourful, and healthful breakfast which doesn't require any heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States