Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I was not expecting this to be good as it looked so simple...I figured it would be bland. It is anything but, I added extra dried blueberries and pecans and it was amazing with just some milk. It was so good I had to have seconds. If you want to shake it up, you can add apple or pumpkin spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Healthy, hearty, delicious, and high in fiber. I recommend it with yogurt or kefir. I like to add chopped dried apricots. I use currants instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NOELLER67
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I love this for breakfast! I eat 1/2 c of Muesli mixed with 1/2 c fat-free plain yogurt and 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce and dash of cinnamon - you don't even need the brown sugar for sweetness that way. I also substituted flax seed for the oat bran. I tried mixing this the night before but it gets much too thick, so I just blend the Muesli w/ the yogurt, etc right before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This has become my favorite breakfast/snack mixed in with vanilla yogurt and sliced banana. I love that it's so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I had muesli in Austria and *loved* it. I make this recipe with honey instead of sugar, sliced almonds instead of the other nuts, and golden raisins and mix it with a little less than an equal part yogurt before I go to bed, then mix in milk or soy milk (and honey) in the morning. Sometimes fresh fruit but I actually like it better without! This is so healthy; I don't like oatmeal and am so happy to have a good breakfast alternative to sugary, processed cereals or fatty egg dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I now keep this on hand and often add other ingrediants as I buy them, such as craisins, pecans, hazelnuts, etc. But otherwise, the ingrediants that are suggested are what I've used. I eat with lactose-free milk but would think it would be very good with yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
i've been making this without a recipe for years. it's delicious with chopped granny smith apples, and any other fruits in season. i actually made it this morning-before coming across this recipe- using strawberries, apples, banana...it usually stays in the fridge for a few hours to soften up and absorb the yogurt. after finding this recipe i added craisins, wheat germ, chopped pecans and sliced almonds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Truly excellent and super healthy. I omit the brown sugar (honestly, with the raisins, it doesn't need it) and I also add 1/2 cup sliced almonds to the mix. I have 1/2 cup of the mix every morning, topped by 1 cup of plain lowfat organic yogurt and 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries (defrosted). This breakfast cannot be beat - all the fiber from the muesli and the berries, plus calcium from the yogurt. I call this my "breakfast of champions!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This is healthy and excellent breakfast! I was first skeptical about it, but now I eat it everyday! I use 1/2C oats and 1C yogurt and chopped prunes (or other dried fruits I find) and refrigerate overnight. Then I add toasted nuts when I eat it. I don't add any milk as mine is already "liquid-er" since I added more yogurt than required. Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This is excellent - better than any oatmeal (I like it hot - 90 secs in the microwave w/ some skim milk) and best of all it literally cost $1 to make at the local organic grocery store using the bins. I used almonds instead of walnuts, BTW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States