Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
very filling...great to have on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisquig
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Another wonderful option is to add date pieces. They are super sweet so you do not need the brown sugar, and a great substitute if you do not like raisins! I love muesli, and this recipe is a good basic option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great recipe. I omitted the sugar and added flax seeds. When I fix this, I boil it in water and mix it with about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and some cinnamon. Very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
i LOVE this recipe! i just made a new batch...can't wait for tomorrow am to try it! the beauty of this recipe is that you can alter it based on what you have on hand or your personal tastes. i was getting pretty frustrated trying to find a breakfast cereal without additives, salt, sugar, etc. so i came to allrecipes hoping to find something healthy/natural...and i'm SO GLAD i found this recipe! it is everything i wanted and then some! i've been making it for about the last 6-8 months & i actually find myself getting excited every am when it's time to have breakfast! 1/2 C. of this w/ a little skim milk & a serving of fresh fruit (usually a banana) is a perfect way to start my day! i always have a ziploc of this cereal in the cupboard ready for each new day. my alterations: i left out the sugar to keep it healthy & b/c the raisins/fresh fruit are enough. i add 1/2 C. flaxseed, substitute 1 C. whole almonds for the walnuts, up the raisins to 1.5 C., and up the sunflower seeds to 1/2 C. This time i added 1/4 C. sesame seeds...we'll see! Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marco in italia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I've been reading recipes on this site for years and have never commented. Until now. This is, hands down, the best muesli recipe ever. It's a wonderful "base" cereal in which to add variations to your liking. My personal favorite is adding shredded coconut and dried cranberries or cherries. And a sprinkle of cardamom. Let is soak in some vanilla kefir, add a tsp of ground flax seed and some frozen blueberries and hop in my car to go to work. Blueberries are thawed by the time I get there and breakfast is ready! Wholesome yumminess. You must try this recipe. Thanks Jen for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Loved this recipe! I toasted mine in the oven at 250 degrees for about 20 minutes. Also added 1/4 cup ground flax seed and used 1/8 cup Splenda brown sugar in place of regular brown sugar. Great with soy milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I omitted the brown sugar as one of the reviews suggested, but it didn't turn out sweet enough. So before eating, I've been mixing each individual serving with a teaspoon of honey. The mixture isn't really as filling as I had anticipated it would be, but it does make a tasty breakfast when served with low-fat plain yogurt and fresh sliced banana on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. It is a perfect way to start the morning. I usually eat it with milk but it is great if you let it set in yogurt for a while to absorb some of the moisture. I made a few changes : 1. I added only 1/8 cup brown sugar (the raisins made it sweet enough too) 2. I omitted the sunflower seeds and added slivered almonds. 3. I added dried cherries as well. This is a perfect base that you can add too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Whoops! I'm so use to giving good reviews that I mistakenly rated this a 5 when I entended a -1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Never had Muesli before and I"m so glad that I tried this recipe! I added 1/2 cup dried cranberries, 1/2 cup almonds, 1/2 cup pecans, 1/2 cup dates, decreased the walnuts to 1/4 cup, and omitted the brown sugar. So good. I'm hoping this will replace my daughter's(4 years old) cereal so I'll have to see how she reacts to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States