Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Excellent muesli, and really flexible what what you can add to it. I also add a 1/2 cup of chopped almonds and use dried cranberries and golden raisins instead of the regular raisins. I tried making it without sugar, but the hubby was much happier with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I just made my 2nd batch of this - I think the first batch lasted over a month. When I bought all the ingredients I thought, 'Woa, this is expensive to make," but besides the oatmeal everything bought the first time will probably go for SEVERAL batches. While I was adding all this good stuff to the bowl I also added 1/2 c ground flax seed because I had some in the fridge. I eat 2 tbsp every morning mixed with a 6oz Light n Fit yogurt and I follow with as much water as I can swallow. This really fills me up and keeps me full for a couple of hours and what I like best is that I KNOW this is so GOOD for me and it tastes GREAT. I either eat this for breakfast every morning or my mid-morning snack at work. I'm lucky to say that I've never had bowel problems but would be willing to bet that if you do, and you made this part of your daily routine - it would help a great deal. I followed the recipe exactly and really don't think I would change anything - but it is a recipe that you could definitely add or subtract a couple things and it would still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Best muesli I've ever had. Still, I made a couple changes to make it extra healthy (it's very healthy as is). I axed the brown sugar; As someone already mentioned, there's no need with the raisins. I also added 1/2 cup dehydrated fruit (no added sugars and almost as nutritious as fresh), 1/3 cup sliced almonds and 1/2 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut. All those add-ins are organic, which is a little overkill, but I recommend using organic grains - make sure they're non-GMO (Bob's Red Mill is a good option). Amazing with some almond or soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChuckNash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Love this recipe. Just like the real thing found in Germany. I, too, omitted the brown sugar and raisins, but added back diced dried apricots and dried cranberries. I browned the wheat germ carefully in a frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Yum. Great for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
O.M.G.!!! This is the best! I had rolled oats and a 5 grain rolled blend so I used half of each. I held the brown sugar out and was happy I did because it doesn't even need it. Use the brown sugar per individual serving instead. You can add additional ingredients that you like too like unsweetened coconut, chia seeds, corn or wheat flakes, fresh fruit but the recipe as written is PERFECT! and so good for you. Thank You Jen ... this recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is good! I put the first 4 ingredients plus the walnuts in a cast iron pan & toasted them a bit. Used big golden raisins and added pepitas. It's really good over plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I have been guilted by various friends and family for buying boxed cereals for whatever reason. I came across this recipe and tried it on a whim. Before using this I used to eat a very high fibre - 9 gm per serving cereal and I am not at all upset with the switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
this was super really good! I love the idea of a hearty oatmeal but can stand the texture of hot cereals. Omitted the brown sugar, but drizzled a teaspoon of sugar free maple syrup, and ate with almond milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Really good base recipe. I'm not a fan of walnuts so I used almonds instead and for a crispier texture: toast the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States