Muesli Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Your recipe was so beautiful and so adictive! I made it crunchy and non sticky by not adding as much butter and adding some bran too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Found these easy to make and really enjoyed the nutty taste and texture. I read how some of the reviewers found it too sticky, so I let it boil a bit longer then suggested to make it harden more. It was a bit greasy when first out of the oven, but when somewhat cooled, cut them up and put in a container. The next day they were hard without being too hard. Perfect. Also used "Trail Mix" (mixture of nuts-eg. peanuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, almonds, etc.) instead of hazelnuts and thought this worked really well. Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
Well, they did turn out OK. I modified it a little. Used a commercially prepared muesli mix and added 1/2 cup of self-raising flour. Turned out OK. Reduced the amount of honey to 1 tbs. This in a way reduced the stickiness. Refrigeration is a must for this bars. In the humid tropical heat here, they became very soft and attracted insects of every kind. First the ants came then the fruit flies then finally the spiders who came and ate up the earlier insects :) I used airtight bags to carry them around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Wonderful and completely addictive. I followed the recipe exactly, except I made them in an 8x8 pan. I didn't find them too sticky. They were easy to make, fast, relatively health and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe! I have to agree, they are addictive! I added dried cranberries to the recipe, which added some colour and great flavour. Other dried fruit would work well too. I would try to decrease the butter next time as I found them a bit greasy, but not sticky. I would also experiment with maybe more nuts and coconut as opposed to the sesame to change the flavour up a bit. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I spread the misture out thinly onto a rectangle cookie sheet and they came out SO nicely. They were thin and crispy. Instead of the nuts and seeds we used a whole cup of coconut. My daughter, 8, loved them so much that she hoarded half of the pan to her grandma's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I couldn't take them out of the pan in one part. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
Found these delicious, but quite sticky..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Quite a nice tasting bar, I did cut down on the sesame seeds as I am not a big fan. Added chopped dried mango, dried plums and currents to give it a little bit more taste and texture. Wrapped them up in clear wrap for my husbands work colleagues. They were a little greasy like a few other cooks mentioned. I cooled in the fridge for 30 minutes before cutting, then placed on a paper towel to absorb an extra grease. I cooked mine for the minimum amount of time and pulled them out at the right time, any longer and they would have been burnt on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My 10 year old son and I really enjoyed these, but my other kids didn't... Used Smart Blend instead of butter and walnuts instead of hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States