Muesli-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I was impressed with the final result, very moist, chewy and bursting with flavor! Being a health freak I subbed the oil for a jar of pureed carrots, and used Splenda instead of sugar. I added dried cranberries to my muesli and following the advice of a review above, I used a gingerbread teabag in the half cup of water to infuse more flavor. I will try again with light greek yogurt for added protein and more nuts for added crunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahnah Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This has become my go-to muffin recipe when I want a quick, relatively healthy breakfast that goes nicely with coffee! It is very versatile, as the meusli can be swapped out for granola, rolled oats, other grainy cereals, etc. I also swap in whole wheat pastry flour and coconut oil. These muffins are rapidly devoured every time I make a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
These are delish, and healthy too. What a great combo! I also added walnut for extra yumminess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Amazing! I have made these twice in the last 24 hours! The first time I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added about 1/2 cup diced apple instead of raisins. The Mueslix cereal I used already has raisins in it. The second time around, I added apple, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, and swapped 1/2 cup of the flour for wheat. They were fabulous both times! I used a standard muffin pan and the recipe made 12 huge muffins with high and gorgeous tops. They were perfect for breakfast and as a "thank you" gift for a neighbor. I'll definitely be making these again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Healthy, almost guilt-free deliciosity - marvelous, satisfying flavor and texture. Few personal changes: substituted 1/3 cup applesauce for oil, flavored water with orange spice teabag, substitued 1/3 cup Splenda blend brown sugar for sugar, and used meusli with dates, almonds and raisins - would otherwise add dry fruit and nuts. With these changes, muffins baked in 20 minutes. Easy to forget removing baked muffins from pan immediately - otherwise will overbake. Easily takes the place of less desirable "treats."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love the texture of the crunchy cereal in this fantastic healthier muffin. I did follow another suggestion of 3 tbls flax and 1 tbls of wheat germ to replace 1/4 cup of flour and will add dried fruits to the next batch just to kick up the healthy a bit more. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Awesome! I did make some changes though: I substituted applesauce for half of the oil, used only 1/3 cup (brown) sugar (2/3 sounded like it would be too sweet), and all whole wheat flour. I added only 1/2 cup raisins because my muesli had some. I did use all the 1/2 cup water, and it was just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
i just love these!!! i sometimes add a few extra nuts (almonds or walnuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I do believe these are the best muffins I've ever made. I added an overripe banana, which was my inspiration for making muffins in the first place, and skipped the extra raisins because my Muelsi already had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
My goal was to make this recipe as is, but based on what I had on hand, I ended up using this as a base recipe with several substitutions. I only had 1/2 cup applesauce, so I mashed up a banana and a small can of peaches and added them. My muesli already had raisins, so I added 1/2 cup of dried cranberries and 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and wheat flour instead of all purpose. The end result: delicious! I will be using this recipe again, with or without substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States