Muenster Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Simply wonderful, the chicken was so tender! I couldn't stop eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
This was a good, easy weekday meal. The only changes I made were to saute the mushrooms before adding to baking dish and I didn't bother with the foil. Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Definitely disappointed with this. It sounded wonderful, but it was VERY bland--even with some extra spices I put in. Muenster is such a light tasting cheese--I would recommend using something with a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
i just made a few changes - coated the chicken in seasoned flour, dipped in egg, then seasoned breadcrumbs (i like a lot of flavor), then i sauteed the mushrooms in the same pan as i browned the chicken, sprinkling them with leftover seasoned flour and adding the broth to make a mushroom sauce. poured this over the cheese-blanketed chicken and baked - it was delicious, and disappeared in one dinner! four stars only because i made changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I was a little let-down after reading all the positive reviews. I thought the dish was okay. I didn't change anything in the recipe other than scaling it down to 3 breasts, using seasoned Italian breading and dipping chicken in egg before breading. I'd like to try it again in the future and here's what I'll do different: 1) I think I need to brown the chicken longer before baking. The breading was awfully soggy. 2) I'll sautee the mushrooms first in butter and garlic. I think they were too raw or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
It was soooooo YUMMY! My fiancee said, "I don't know why we go out to eat when you can cook better than the restaurants can." I did as another reviewer did: I dipped the chicken in egg instead of milk. I used italian bread crumbs, added dry basil, garlic powder, salt and black pepper. Followed directions, but chicken was done in about 35 minutes. I meant to serve it with rice pilaf, but only had Lipton's creamy chicken flavored rice. It was a great choice, though; I think it may have been just a bit bland with plain pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
If there were a way to mark 4 1/2 stars this would be it. But I tend to reserve 5 stars for the simply outstanding. However this receipe is very, very good. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs as that is what I had on hand. I used egg instead of milk for the coating, then dipped each thigh into the breadcrumbs. I seasoned my own breadcrumbs with basil, oregano, garlic powder, and salt and pepper. I then browned each thigh in a tad bit of butter. I set them in the baking pan ontop of some frozen green peas. I also added some chopped fresh green onions in addition to the mushrooms for extra flavor. Served over rice, this was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This was a hit! I ended up substituting the chicken broth with cream of chicken and it gave it even more flavor! I served it with rice and a light cucumber salad. Everyone was ewwwwwwing and awwwwwwing! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
It doesn't get any better than this! This dish presents beautifully on a bed of herbed rice. Clean-up is a breeze since it's a one dish meal. It's perfect for guests since you can use the cooking time to mingle or prepare other dinner items. The flavors are savory and delicious. I can't wait to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I've made this before, however, I didn't add mushrooms, and I added spiral egg noodles in the pan with it...dry, they cooked nicely and the bread crumbs, cheese and broth made a wonderful sauce to eat with both!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States