Muenster Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Used chiecken tenderloin instead of breast and used cream of chicken instead of chicken broth. Came out sooo moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I horizontally sliced the really big chix breasts instead of pounding (lazy day) and then Seasoned the chix breasts with red pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, basil and seasoned salt. Used 1 egg instead of milk and seasoned panko chips with red pepper, italian seasoning, parsley, and fresh minced garlic. I didn't fry the chix breast for fear of all the crumbs coming off, so I refrigerated them for 1 hour to make them stick. Topped each chix breast with sauteed mushrooms and topped with cheese sliced (if the cheese is on top of the mushrooms, it holds them in place). Poured 3/4 cup chix broth mixed with 1/4 cup white wine around chix breats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Really good. I did the egg instead of milk like others, and used italian bread crumbs. Used chicken breast tenders and it was so moist, juicy and tender that we didn't even need knives. Served with brown rice. The kids liked it too and they're not too picky but they are kids nonetheless and they kept saying how good it was. Next time I'll add a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very good, basic recipe. I seasoned th chicken up better. Less milk it is just to moisten the chicken and get the crumbs to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've been making a similar dish for years with one exception. The most notable addition, which really makes the dish in my opinion, is to squeeze fresh lemon juice over the whole dish before it goes into the oven. Also, I use very thin chicken breast cutlets and decrease the cooking time to 30 mins total. If you don't have muenster, swiss cheese works well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe was easy to follow, delicious, and a hit with my whole family. The tang of the Muenster is mild and is the perfect compliment to the smoky mushrooms. And of course the Muenster melts like a dream! The chicken is flavorful and herb-y thanks to the seasoned breadcrumbs. I give this dish 4 stars as written because it was tasty as written but there are a few changes I made the second go round that I felt really made the dish top notch. Some of my changes were based on the suggestions of other reviewers. I: added 1/2 an onion (caramelized), used 3 cups of mushrooms instead of 1 and sauteed with the onion before topping the chicken, used egg instead of milk for dipping, and seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper before dip/bread. The addition of the extra mushrooms really bulks up the dish while the caramelized onion lends a savory but slightly sweet depth. I also think it's important to season every step of the way which is why I salt and peppered the chicken straight out of the package. I've also tried this recipe using a can of diced tomatoes with juice instead of the chicken broth. Adds the liquid plus even more veggies and the tomatoes really get along with the other flavors. This dish doubles well and also works SUPER with chicken thighs (I prefer them for this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Easy to make! Kids joined in the prep time and everyone LOVED it! Added can of cream of mushroom for extra juice and creaminess. Hubby was sad there wasn't more for lunch the next day! Even the kids who don't really like mushrooms ate this up! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponderoza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Loved it. I used the cream of chicken soup AND a little chicken broth. Was yummy. Even my picky 10 year old ate it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used shredded mozzarella instead of muenster ... still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious! I was skeptical because the ingredients sounded odd together, but it turned out to be such a tasty dish. Like others, I used eggs and milk to bread the chicken and pre-sauteed the mushrooms. Also added a 1/4 cup white wine to the broth and served it with rice. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States