Mud Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
FANTASIC SUMMER DESSERT FOR FAMILY OR A FRIENDLY GATHERING. EASY, YUMMY, AND COOL. MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS WERE QUITE IMPRESSED. THANK Y0U.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
The taste was great, but I had to double the Espresso Fudge Sauce recipe, because it wasn't enough for two layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I think this recipe was the best I have ever tasted. Easy to make and wonderfull for a parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This was excellent. We had it on Christmas Eve as a 'Birthday Cake for Jesus' and the kids agreed that it would probably be His favorite too. :) Next time I will make it without the coffee, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This is such an awesome recipe! I did some simple modifications and it was a hit at Thanksgiving (The proof was in all of the leftover pumpkin pie that year!) First I used a store bought espresso I found in the coffee section of my supermarket. Then because I love macadamia nuts, I chopped them and spread them over the caramel layer. I also use two different ice cream flavors- chocolate and coffe, and I spread more of the espresso sauce in between those layers. Finally I top it off with more of the chopped macadamia nuts and serve it with whipped cream. Make sure you cut the slices thin because this is rich- but absolutely heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
The end result is very tasty, but it is not as easy as it sounds. This is a time consuming recipe because you have to continue freezing the dessert between layers, so allow plenty of time. I initially used a coated pan to make the caramel sauce and the sauce did not darken and eventually crystalized, so I had to start over. Also, my springform pan did not fit into my freezer (I have a split fridge/freezer), so I had to rotate the dessert during the freezing process to ensure that the liquid did not roll to one side and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
A definite crowd pleaser. The carmel in this is absolutely magnificent. My hats off to the chef for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I have to say, this recipe is FANTAB! I love to bring pies to my Bible Study and my fellow worshipers thought it was fantastic. I added crunched up Samoa Girl Scout Cookies (Be Prepared!) in the fudge layer. It was excellent. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Maybe Im not as advanced as the other cooks who have rated this recipe. Though the finished product tasted outstanding, the process was not easy. I melted my spatula into the caramel sauce and had to re-do that part. I forgot how hot the stuff was so when I put water in the pan I had to throw out, it splattered all over and burned my toes! I know that mistake was purely do to my haste. The part Im still not sure of is the last layer of fudge sauce over the ice cream. It solidified before I could spread it over the whole pie. Also, when I went to cut the pie, the top layer of fudge stuck to my knife instead of the pie. Maybe I didnt freeze the ice cream long enough and cool the fudge off enough. I hope that helps the next cook. I still recommend the recipe cuz no matter what it looked like served up, I was sooooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is my husband's favorite dessert. Last Superbowl Sunday, he even offered to go to the store for me to get ice cream if I would make this pie. One note: I had a really hard time with the caramel sauce and the crystals. I read to add a few drops of lemon juice to the water/suger and it would keep the crystals from forming on top. This is a rich but EXCELLENT dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States