Mud Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I know this recipe is just by the name it doesn't have to taste good it already sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
We love this! I usually use coffee ice cream, but all varieties work. We also make homemade whipping cream (whipping cream & sugar) and put that on top. It is sinful. Just delish! Thanks for the recipe... it is to die for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Delish! It is so rich, I decided to use only half the caramel and half the fudge, using the fudge on top only. I substituted slow churned coffee ice cream for the vanilla and I cut the butter in half on the crust and the chocolate fudge. Also, edged the pie in crushed, raw almonds. So now you can have your cake (pie) and eat it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I make extra jars of the espresso fudge sauce just for ice cream sundaes when the pie is gone! They're a great Christmas gift as well and all of our friends ask for jars too! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I wanted to make this recipe for a few reasons. First, I loved that it was labor intensive and completely from scratch. Second, the last review is a few years old and there is no photo of this recipe yet. I pretty much followed the recipe as written. For the chocolate cookies, I used Oreos, which I chopped finely in my blender. The caramel sauce turned out nice and creamy. For the fudge I realized I was out of Karo syrup as I was making it so I made a homemade verision. The espresso fudge is amazing, don't substitute or leave out the espresso! For the vanilla ice cream, I made homemade vanilla ice cream using a David Lebovitz recipe. On top of the last fugde layer on top of the ice cream I added Godiva 85% chocolate shavings then I piped on homemade whipped cream and added cherries. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is my husband's favorite dessert. Last Superbowl Sunday, he even offered to go to the store for me to get ice cream if I would make this pie. One note: I had a really hard time with the caramel sauce and the crystals. I read to add a few drops of lemon juice to the water/suger and it would keep the crystals from forming on top. This is a rich but EXCELLENT dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Maybe Im not as advanced as the other cooks who have rated this recipe. Though the finished product tasted outstanding, the process was not easy. I melted my spatula into the caramel sauce and had to re-do that part. I forgot how hot the stuff was so when I put water in the pan I had to throw out, it splattered all over and burned my toes! I know that mistake was purely do to my haste. The part Im still not sure of is the last layer of fudge sauce over the ice cream. It solidified before I could spread it over the whole pie. Also, when I went to cut the pie, the top layer of fudge stuck to my knife instead of the pie. Maybe I didnt freeze the ice cream long enough and cool the fudge off enough. I hope that helps the next cook. I still recommend the recipe cuz no matter what it looked like served up, I was sooooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I have to say, this recipe is FANTAB! I love to bring pies to my Bible Study and my fellow worshipers thought it was fantastic. I added crunched up Samoa Girl Scout Cookies (Be Prepared!) in the fudge layer. It was excellent. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
A definite crowd pleaser. The carmel in this is absolutely magnificent. My hats off to the chef for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
The end result is very tasty, but it is not as easy as it sounds. This is a time consuming recipe because you have to continue freezing the dessert between layers, so allow plenty of time. I initially used a coated pan to make the caramel sauce and the sauce did not darken and eventually crystalized, so I had to start over. Also, my springform pan did not fit into my freezer (I have a split fridge/freezer), so I had to rotate the dessert during the freezing process to ensure that the liquid did not roll to one side and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States