Mrs. Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I don't have the biggest sweet tooth in the world but I'll never pass up a good peanut butter cookie and these was more than just good, they were excellent. I also added more P.B. then called for. Just a hint to avoid the sticky and messy job of measuring the peanut butter: If a recipe calls for l cup of peanut butter, fill a measuring cup with one cup of water and start dropping spoonfuls of P.B. into the water until the water level reaches 2 cups. The P.B. won't mix with the water and you'll end up with a perfect cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
HELPFUL SUGGESTION AFTER TRYING THIS SEVERAL TIMES: This one is okay, but nothing like the rest of her recipes that I have tried ...which ROCK your tummy!!! I tried this trusting I'd make my many guests happy. They ate a few but weren't impressed. Made a different one from this site for a potluck of 300 people, and they said they were SO MUCH better (joey's)! Update: Following the suggestions of others below, I did this again because I'm always wanting to bake ...and it's still nothing special and not the desired consistency I like in a pb cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Well , I really did not think this recipe sounded that exciting, but my kids wanted Peanut Butter cookies so we tried it and we loved them!!! I altered the recipe, as others suggested, and used 1 cup of butter and no shortening, I added an additional 1/2 cup of peanut butter and 1/2 cup of flour. They don't flatten too much when cooking so you can put a lot on one cookie sheet. I baked for 9 minutes and they don't really look done, but they are. They turned out PERFECT! These were delicious! Great with a glass of milk. I made half plain and added chocolate chips on top of the other half. I posted a picture if interested. Thank you for this recipe...it's a keeper! If you liked these, try the Peanut Butter Cup Cookies recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jobearie
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Mmmm, tasty! I didn't have any butter or shortening on hand, so I used margarine instead. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of peanut butter and rolled the cookies in sugar before baking. The cookies didn't really spread (probably because I used margarine), but I actually liked the crispiness of the ridges. In addition, I used natural creamy peanut butter, which doesn't have any sugar in it (unlike Jif and Skippy), so I would recommend natural PB if you prefer a cookie that isn't too sweet. I think next time I'll try crunchy peanut butter for a little extra oomph. :) By the way, I posted a photo of the finished product in case anyone's curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobearie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
While these are good, and there is certainly no tweaking necessary, I only rate a recipe five stars if it is absolutely outstanding and somehow sets itself apart from others. I added two chopped King Size Mr. Goodbars and loved it. Again, good recipe, just not extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Wow, totally yummy! I only tried this recipe because I thought if your snickerdoodles were that good, these have got to be okay too. Sooooo yummy. Thank you. I did add a little more peanut butter but still my arms are raised as I bow to you and say "I'm not worthy, I'm not worthy". All hale the queen of cookies, and please post some more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Yay Ms. Sigg! I have tried all of your cookies and you never let me down!:-) For this recipe I did make some adjustments though. I added about 1/2 cup more of peanut butter. I also added half creamy and half crunchy and that really added to the cookie! Loved it! Lastly, I put a layer of chocolate chips on half the batch right before I put it in the oven. Mmmm, perfect with a glass of milk.:-) Thanks again! Ally 2-25-07 Made again today on a rainy, gloomy day. They were STILL amazing! I added milk chocolate chips and 1/8 of a cup of cocoa to the last half of the dough. Yummy! This made for a great lunch (cookie dough and all!):-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I only rate and review a recipe if it is either really good or really bad, and this one is REALLY GOOD! Best PB cookies ever, and mine looked nothing like the photo, mine were perfectly round professional looking cookies. They look and taste like they come from a fine bakery. Thanks for sharing Beth, these are awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
Don't even try another recipe!! This one is just too good. Boyfriend ate the entire batch in less than 2 days and was glad when I didn't want the last two cookies left in the cookie jar. I did as the others mentioned and added another 1/2 c. of PB. This was a big help as just a 1/2 c. of PB would have not been enough.Also do as instructed and take out after 8 minutes. You may not think they are done, as I did, but the will soon finish cooking after being taken out of the oven. All I got to say is no other PB cookie recipes even comes close to this one. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wv_mtnr_cook_78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
All I can say is excelent recipe Mrs Siggs, moist and yummy! I made these cookies in a mini muffin tin and pushed a peanut butter cup into the center of the cookie after it was done cooking. It was a hit, they did not last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States