Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Once I made this pie, I was addicted to making homemade pumpkin pie. I also made it substituting hubbard squash and it was excellent. I love this recipe and now make a pumpkin pie every weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
My husband has made this recipe twice in the last week. Absolutely AWESOME! The filling literally melts in your mouth. There is NO comparison with canned pumpkin pie filling - this is the freshest, most wonderful flavor ever. I highly recommend it! WELL worth the extra effort to use a fresh pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This was a wonderful pie. It was very easy to make. My husband even ate it and he doesn't like pumpkin pie. I definitely will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This was the best pumpkin pie ever! I didn't use a sugar pumpkin, just a regular pumpkin pureed in the blender, and it came out great. I had no pumpkin pie spice on hand so I use 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon each of ginger, nutmeg, and allspice. I wasn't able to fit the whole filling into one storebought frozen pie shell, so I ended up making two pies with it. My little sister, who had never liked or eaten pumpkin pie, ate a whole slice and liked it. My brother, husband, and I thought that it was the best pumpkin pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I have never made a pumpkin pie before...so when I tried this one from scratch I was feeling brave.....well even my apple pie lovers are already asking me to start making more pumpkin pies. =) Thank you for such an easy & wonderful recipe!...I wouldn't dream of "ruining" this pie by using canned pumpkin ;)... Farmers Markets..here I come!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I agree this stuff is super yummy - Mrs. Sigg all your recipes are great! Please submit more :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I lost this recipe and I'm so glad I found it again. I made this last year and got rave reviews all around. It turned out so moist and tender--fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I made this recipe with my jack-o-lantern the day after Halloween. It tasted great even with regular pumpkin (note: one good sized jack-o-lantern makes about 4 pies). My husband loved it! One suggestion: for a really smooth, creamy pie blend the filling in the blender on puree for a few seconds AFTER you've mixed the ingredients. It really smoothed it out. This one is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Very tasty. Lots of work using fresh pumpkin though. I'd probably using canned next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Loved doing this in one bowl, my kind of recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States