Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I've made fresh pumpkin pie before, but not with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, but didn't get the texture filling I expected. The filling tasted like I expected and was delicious, but the pie itself was very soft and didn't set up like the custard-based pumpkin pie recipes that use a lot more eggs. I doubt I'll make this again, but that's because I prefer a firmer pie that doesn't "slouch" on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was my first time making a fresh pumpkin pie. It turned out great. I used a "cheese" pumpkin and everything else was exactly as written. The pumpkin was big enough that I got 4 pies out of it. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The BEST pumpkin pie I have ever had. I read the reviews and per recommendations did increase the spices to 1 tbsp and decreased the sugar to 3/4 c. Everyone LOVED it. Worst part is there were no leftovers from two pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This will be my fourth year making this recipe. Ever since I made this pie, I have people asking me to make pumpkin pie each year for now on. There is one little flaw with this recipe, it makes enough for two pies. I use or make 9" pie shells and this recipe makes two pies. Which I do not mind making two pies. Other then the large batch of pie filling, this is the best pie recipe ever! I used a cinderella pumpkin which is another great pumpkin to use for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Everyone loved... Tweeked a bit but best base recipe I have found. Perfection... Making more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Didn't have a sugar pumpkin and used a small regular jack'o one. Still turned out great. As others have said, made my own crust. Makes all the difference. Keeping this recipe for sure! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGural

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have been making my own puree for a while but always used the Libby's recipe. This is a very well written recipe for those who have never used a sugar pumpkin before. The ingredients are spot on and make a flavorful pie. My only additions were to add a bit of Bourbon and vanilla extract. I left out the salt due to dietary needs - didn't miss it at all. I did sub the evaporated milk with an 8 ounce container of soy cream cheese I thinned down with 4 ounces of vanilla coconut milk. (I made two pies) I wont be using Libby's recipe anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Fantastic recipe, this is the only one I will ever use. This is well worth the effort, becuase the taste is fresh and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer zero
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Wow, awesome pie. I used a regular Halloween pumpkin and had enough for four pies. Great recipe. I use a little vanilla extract. But followed the recipe to a tee and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States