Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I've been making pies from fresh pumpkin for years. I made one for my Dad one time and he announced he would never eat canned again. Jack O'Lantern pumpkin has a little different texture than regular pie pumpkins but it's fun to get something else out of your Halloween decorations and it's still good. After I cook mine, I process it and divide in into 2 cups and freeze it. I always have some ready to go. That way it's just as easy as canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used this recipe to prepare 6pies ahead of tome for the holidays - the online multiplier was so wrong ... I wound up with enough filling for 12 pies instead of six. Could use more spice so I added extra cinnamon. I found 2 1/2 cups filled a pie crust, it puffs while cooking but flattens while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious. I added a dash of grnd cloves but besides that I followed the recipe word for word and it was lovely. i was too impatient to wait until the next day to try a piece and it was good the first day but the recipe is correct that the flavor really comes together after refrigerating over night. this is my new go to pumpkin pie recipe. I'm going to try it w/ butternut squash as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I had a fantastic time making this pie. Roasting the pumpkin, peeling, scraping, pulping and pureeing... It was nice to get down into the nitty gritty of the pie's origin instead of just using a can of premade pumpkin pie mix. All in all, I don't even care for pumpkin pie, but so many people around me love it that it is in high demand. I could not tell a huge difference between the premade pumpkin and that which I made, but others said they could. I don't think I will be making this again anytime soon because it IS a lot of work, but it is definitely worth making once, or always if you are a purist when it comes to ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Thank you for a pumpkin pie recipe that uses fresh pumpkin. I am a Canadian who has moved to Australia and we do not have canned pumpkin or pumpkin pie spice here. I looked for a substitution for the spice on this website. I used Martha Stewart's pastry recipe for the crust. I took it to a shared lunch and my Australian coworkers were very eager to try it. They really liked it - one said it was better than the chocolate cake! They all want Mrs. Stigg's recipe. It seems doubtful that a cake with all that milk will work, but it sets up beautifully.Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this last night and served it up tonight (Halloween) to my friends and family. It was my first time ever making a pumpkin pie with an actual pumpkin vs. using the can...and it came out DELICIOUS!! Everyone loved it, including my husband who is not a pumpkin pie fan!! Everyone who had a piece requested the recipe, and I was happy to share it! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe! **Only thing I did differently was use the Pillsbury Roll Out dough**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Wonderfuly easy recipe. I used condensed milk in place of evaporated milk and brown sugar. This is my 2nd one in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Best fresh pie ever. My family loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very good! I made the recipe as is. I used a pre-made frozen pie crust from Pilsbury. It took my oven a little longer to cook the pumpkin, more like 50 minutes. I don't have a great blender, so after I cooked the pumpkin and peeled it, I mashed the flesh, made the filling, and then poured the whole mixture in the blender to get out all of the pumpkin lumps. It worked really well and everything is smooth and creamy now. The filling was really thin - like water, but it set really nicely. I baked it closer to 50 minutes which seemed to work fine. The recipe yielded two 9" pies for me, bit the pie shells were pretty small. So, for bigger pie dishes I think this recipe would make 1 pie. In all, it was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Harney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This makes enough for two pies. I didn't want to make two pies; I wanted to make one. I only had one pie crust on hand, so off to the store for another one for my unintentional second pie. Somebody needs to change the recipe to reflect this fact. The pies were very good, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States