Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Hubby loved it. I was surprised that it didn't fit in the pie pan. The entire can of evaporated milk was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I baked this pie for Thanksgiving this year and it came out great! I was so proud of myself since it was the first time I baked a pie from scratch! Thank you and I will definitely be using this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaysbutterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My family and I loved this. It was well worth the little bit of extra effort:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very tasty and not too difficult to make. It takes a little time to bake and scrape the pumpkin, but the results are worth the investment. It is MUCH better than a pie made with canned pumpkin. This pie keeps extremely well. I made it 5 days ahead of Thanksgiving and it was still delicious on the big day. Strongly recommend fresh whipped cream to accompany it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
first pie ever made and used a real pumpkin... PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Loved this recipe! I only increased Pumpkin pie spice to 1 Tablespoon. Everyone loved it and said it had a great flavor. Refrigerating the pie overnight really advanced flavor. I did not use a can of evaporated milk, instead I used 1 cup of milk on hand. It tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
First time making a fresh pumpkin pie and it turned out really well! Wouldn't change a thing! I served this with fresh cinnamon whipped cream and everyone raved over it at Thanksgiving, even the few who said they don't normally like/eat pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anap.quintana
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Make this! I bake all the time with much success, but this could be the best pie I've ever had. I didn't have a fresh pumpkin to use, so I used trader joe's canned pumpkin. I was worried that it wouldn't be sweet enough but after tasting my pumpkin mixture I figured it would do. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 regular brown. That was all I had, and now that I think of it mixing white and regular brown would seem to equal light brown. lol. I read someone else's review who commented on the mixture being very runny. It is very soupy but it will bake to perfection. I think mine actually took a little over an hour. Just check that it has stopped jiggling and follow the toothpick test. I used the "Best Ever Pie Crust" from this site (prebaked at 375 for 10 mins). It was just perfect! My husband and I couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
According to my 6 year old, Jackson, who helped me make the pie: "This is a 5 star pumpkin pie. I liked everything about it. If I could give it half a million stars, I would!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
First time I ever made a pumpkin pie this was easy to follow and tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States