Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This came out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Delicious and easy! Used sugar pumpkins that we got from our local CSA. Edged up with too much filling for the 9" pie shell so we made a mini pie with the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I had pumpkin puree in my freezer left over from another time I roasted and scooped a pumpkin. I defrosted it and then cooked it on the stove over low heat for about an hour. That really helped to thicken it up. Since I only had 1.5 cups of the necessary 2 cups of puree, I microwaved a couple of small sweet potatoes, peeled and mashed them, and added 1/2 cup of that to the pumpkin. That really put the pie over the top! I made my pie crust using the Crisco recipe... it never fails. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Really good. Can use sweet potatoes as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I thought it turned out pretty good. It definitely needed more spices, we all thought it was a little bland. The texure was great though and it baked up beautifully. Like others mentioned, I too had extra filling. I put the extra filling in a ramekin and baked it along side the pie. I was able to "sample" the pie (without the crust) before Christmas dinner and no one was the wiser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Went too fast, I didn't get a piece :( I heard it was "fabulous"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Good pie - came out soft and tasty but brown on top. Definitely needs to be refrigerated overnight, though - eat it right away and it's really too liquidy and eggy. Also - really needs more spice! I ended up using 2 tablespoons of fresh-ground nutmeg, 2 tbsp cinnamon, and 1 tbsp allspice - and it was so delicious! For the crust, I recommend John's Easy Pie Crust - http://allrecipes.com/recipe/easy-homemade-pie-crust/detail.aspx - it's easy and I made four of them in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Hubby loved it. I was surprised that it didn't fit in the pie pan. The entire can of evaporated milk was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I baked this pie for Thanksgiving this year and it came out great! I was so proud of myself since it was the first time I baked a pie from scratch! Thank you and I will definitely be using this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaysbutterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My family and I loved this. It was well worth the little bit of extra effort:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States