Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My family and I loved this. It was well worth the little bit of extra effort:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very tasty and not too difficult to make. It takes a little time to bake and scrape the pumpkin, but the results are worth the investment. It is MUCH better than a pie made with canned pumpkin. This pie keeps extremely well. I made it 5 days ahead of Thanksgiving and it was still delicious on the big day. Strongly recommend fresh whipped cream to accompany it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
first pie ever made and used a real pumpkin... PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Loved this recipe! I only increased Pumpkin pie spice to 1 Tablespoon. Everyone loved it and said it had a great flavor. Refrigerating the pie overnight really advanced flavor. I did not use a can of evaporated milk, instead I used 1 cup of milk on hand. It tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
First time making a fresh pumpkin pie and it turned out really well! Wouldn't change a thing! I served this with fresh cinnamon whipped cream and everyone raved over it at Thanksgiving, even the few who said they don't normally like/eat pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anap.quintana
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Make this! I bake all the time with much success, but this could be the best pie I've ever had. I didn't have a fresh pumpkin to use, so I used trader joe's canned pumpkin. I was worried that it wouldn't be sweet enough but after tasting my pumpkin mixture I figured it would do. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 regular brown. That was all I had, and now that I think of it mixing white and regular brown would seem to equal light brown. lol. I read someone else's review who commented on the mixture being very runny. It is very soupy but it will bake to perfection. I think mine actually took a little over an hour. Just check that it has stopped jiggling and follow the toothpick test. I used the "Best Ever Pie Crust" from this site (prebaked at 375 for 10 mins). It was just perfect! My husband and I couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
According to my 6 year old, Jackson, who helped me make the pie: "This is a 5 star pumpkin pie. I liked everything about it. If I could give it half a million stars, I would!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
First time I ever made a pumpkin pie this was easy to follow and tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scaevola
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have made this recipe twice now. I make my own pumpkin pie spice from another recipe on here, and tweak it a little. Otherwise, this recipe is perfect. I took it to my friend's for Thanksgiving this year, and her relatives kept coming up to me to tell me how amazing the pie was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaevola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
my sugar pumkin was from holloween stock and purchased for 10 cents. i cut up and baked the cleaned pumkin and mashed it up with a fork and added it to the creamed eggs and brown sugar. the brown sugar was a splenda product and low in calories. i was out of pumpkin pie spice and substituted equal amounts of tai chai spice. i added 1/4 tsps of ginger, allspice and cinnamin into the brown sugar and egg mix. when the pumpkin was mixed in well it was turned out into a frozen shell and cooked as spoken in the recipe and stored overnight for the flavors to meld. it is the best pie with pumpkin in it that i have ever had. i bet you could substitute and kind of squash or sweet potato of the sqishable persuasion. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubyjule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States