Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
The pie recipe itself is nearly identical to the one on the back of the carnation evaporated milk can. great recipe, turned out perfect, but nothing super original. what makes this recipe much more useful to me is the instructions on how to get pumpkin puree out of an actual pumpkin. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was my first time making a fresh pumpkin pie. It was very delicious and not too sweet. I wanted to use a frozen pie crust but since I went through all the effort to roast a pumpkin I thought a homemade crust was in order. Crisco's recipe was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
very good put 1 T. of spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good ole fashioned pumpkin pie, like Gramma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe, turns out fantastic every time. I just have a couple of helpful comments. First, I use the little pumpkins called "pie pumpkins" or "pumpkin pie squash". I have found I need two of these, not one, to get 2 cups of puree. Second, this actually makes a 9 1/2 inch pie. When I make it in a 9 inch pie pan, I have enough filling left over to make one little pumpkin custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! I messed up the first one and only put in cloves, UGH! But the next 2 I made were so delicious that I had to make 2 more a week later because we were craving more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Unger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
10 stars!! I've never cared for pumpkin pie, but my husband loves it! I decided to "bake" him one myself instead of the old faithful "store bought". This recipe is AMAZING! I even love to eat this pie- I could eat the whole pie!! I tried other pumpkin pies & still don't like them- I can't even finish a small slice. This recipe has my family screaming YUM! I've made a dozen of them for friends & family this holiday season & they've all raved! Thank you for posting your recipe! It's amazing!! Real pumpkin makes the difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chren22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
It was delicious! For me, the key was using my immersion blender to get a smooth consistency. A food processor might work as well. Next time I might try using half and half so as to avoid using anything that comes in a can. For Thanksgiving, I think nothing should come in a can ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I want to add, for anyone who didn't like it: the flavor of the final pie depends on the variety of pumpkin you used. Don't use the variety that's called "sugar pumpkin", that type really isn't so great. Try something else like Winter Luxury, (if you can find it. Or, if the ony variety you can find is the ill-named tasteless "sugar pumpkins", try butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States