Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Made this pie for the hungry and tired deer hunters, and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I wanted to make a pie from scratch and this turned out AMAZING! I was very doubtful when it was extremely watery after blending, but after baking it set real nice. Also I decided to just throw all the items one at a time into the blender and mix it all in there and it made for a really creamy silky texture... it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sstokes86
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was a really easy recipe. I had success on my first try, and I've never made any pumpkin pie, let alone a fresh one. It was quite tedious having to puree the fresh pumpkin and being careful not to add too much water. I've never even tasted pumpkin pie before but My husband and I finished this one over a week! It needed more spice. More cinnamon and other spices. I'm making another one for thanksgiving and will add more then. Also, before baking it was super soupy, and I wondered if I did it wrong, But it baked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sstokes86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was excellent and had a creamy texture. I would use a little less sugar next time and used my own combination of nutmeg, ginger and cinnimon rather than premixed spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Made this twice in a week. First time didn't have evap. milk so used half and half. Very runny, took much longer to cook but still good. Second one used evap. milk - so good! Already had 3 requests to make it for Thanskgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
heavenly! added 1/4 cup brandy to the pumpkin mixture. I used 2 cups of pureed field pumpkin. i loved the flavor of the fresh pumpkin and the brandy made it very smooth. the mix was very runny and i left it in the oven to set up for about an hour then let it cool before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was great! It was my first attempt at making a pumpkin pie ever (they have always kind of scared me...) and it was pretty easy. I altered it a little bit by adding a splash of home made vanilla extract and increasing the pumpkin pie spice to 1.5 Tbs. I also pureed the out of it in the food processor to make it extra smooth. For the crust I used a Williams Sonoma recipe and it was glorious (butter is better!). And, if you're going to go the extra step to use fresh pumpkin, you may as well make your own fresh whipped cream too. I added a splash of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon to mine and it was the perfect topper. My teen age son ate half the pie in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuroraMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Oh, my!! I have never used fresh pumpkin before so I decided why not use up those pumpkins from my Halloween decor? I am so glad I did. This pie is out of this world! Very creamy and delicious. I love the amount of spice and will never use canned pumpkin again! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was my first attempt at making pie with fresh pumpkin and OMG I may never use canned pumpkin again - I'm not even a big fan of pumpkin pie (made it for my family) and I loved it - light and fluffy and just the right amount of sweetness..my pumpkin was large so I doubled the other ingredients and the batter was enough for three pies so I baked and froze two for Thanksgiving! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I've been making pies from fresh pumpkin for years. I made one for my Dad one time and he announced he would never eat canned again. Jack O'Lantern pumpkin has a little different texture than regular pie pumpkins but it's fun to get something else out of your Halloween decorations and it's still good. After I cook mine, I process it and divide in into 2 cups and freeze it. I always have some ready to go. That way it's just as easy as canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States