Mrs. Schaller's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is not a bad cookie, it's just very different than your normal, everyday sugar cookie. I would describe it as a very soft, almost cake-like cookie. It is not real sweet. It almost reminded me of a slightly sweet cornbread. That's what it tasted like to me. The finished cookie even has a slightly yellow color to it, like cornbread. The dough is a bit difficult to work with, because as soon as you roll it out, it warms up and can stick. You need to work in extra flour before rolling out, and make sure your surface is WELL floured. Don't roll it too thin. I would say about 1/4" thickness worked best. Well floured, and at this thickness, it was very easy to cut with a cookie cutter, and remove the excess dough without it sticking to the surface (I rolled mine on a large silicone mat, which I always use when making cut-out cookies - works great). I chose to frost mine with a butter cream frosting and decorate with sprinkles for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly. My cut-out cookies kept their shape and barely expanded in size. Flavor is perfect for me because I love to decorate with glaze and icing! Wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was the worst cookie recipie I have ever tried. I agree with other reviewers that the cookies were bland and tasteless. Something was definitely missing. A waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I found the dough very easy to work with and they turned out very soft instead of crispy like you normally have in a sugar cookie. The only think I didn't like it was bland, no flavor. I suppose you can add some almond extract, but I probably won't make this recipe again. Also it made more than what it said it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYHUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I wanted to make sugar cookies for friends for Christmas, so I made a double batch of this recipe. I tried the cookies in the first batch that came out of the oven and, after realizing that the cookies tasted more like paste than sugar, proceeded to throw the dough in the garbage. I'll buy my friends gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I found this recipe to be one if the best I have tried in a long time. The cookies cut out very easily and the flavor was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
The dough was very hard to mix thoroughly, and it was sticky and hard to work with. After baking, it was obvious that the dough didn't mix well, as the cookies were bumpy looking, not smooth. That would have been fine (as I don't really care what my food looks like, as long as it tastes good), but the flavor was very bland. My daughter, who likes almost any cookies, didn't like them very much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I don't care for these at all. They baked up beautifully but they do not have any flavour!! I followed the recipe to a T and I don't know what happened. I'm sure they will be fine once I frost them, but kind of dissapointing. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is an excellent sugar cookie recipe. Easy to mix and bakes up very fluffy and soft. I have three girls and we loved making and eating these over Thanksgiving break and will definately make them for Christmas. A+ RECIPE !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I only tried this recipe because there used to be a "Mrs. Schaller" at my church and it caught my eye. I'm glad I did! The buttermilk makes it more flavorful than your typical bland cookie. They were a little sticky but baked up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States