Mrs. Ronzo's Lemon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Quite nice. The cookies are puffy and cake like. The baking time was dead on when I used heaped teaspoons of the batter, which, as the recipe says, is quite sticky. I added the zest of one lemon to it as well, and would add more the next time, along with more lemon extract. I have had so many requests for my variation on this recipe, I can't tell you. It's a great basic starting place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
These were not my favorite. It's not that it was a *bad* recipe ~ it's just that they didn't live up to all the rave reviews, in my opinion. Yes, they were cake like and the texture was great! They weren't quite has lemony as I had hoped for and they were kinda bland. Even though they weren't my favorite, I'm still glad I tried this recipe. Thanks anyway, Patti! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Very tasty, cakelike cookie. My cookie scoop made cookies a little too big so I used tea spoons. A drop the size of a jawbreaker gumball worked best. The icing is a must but a little extra lemon extract and some yellow food coloring pepped it up nicely. These were divine with a cup of black coffee. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I agree with everybody about how good they are! However, I have made these several times, and because it is such a wet dough, I added almost 3/4 cup more flour, and refrigerate for one hour, and they are perfect! And oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This cookie is amazing! It has just the right amount of sweetness. I did go a little heavy on the lemon extract after reading some reviews. To make it even lower in calories I used egg substitute, 1% milk and cut the glaze in half. With these changes, it is only 72 calories per cookie. I didn't use shortening either I used unsalted butter (had to be a little bad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Really yummy cookies! I loved them -- perfect for giving away on Christmas cookie platters. I also really liked how easy the recipe was. The cookies taste like something my grandmother would make, but were much easier! Note: These cookies taste equally as delicious with orange extract in the dough and icing. Also, make sure to use the parchment paper called for when baking the cookies. Without it the cookies tend to brown too much on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These turned out perfectly. First of all, though, I wouldn't call them "balls"- they are more cookie-shaped with a cake-like consistency. I added more lemon extract to the batter; just taste the batter as you add to get to where you want. I also added a bit more extract to the icing, and more water as well- 1 spoon at a time until I got the desired consistency. I put a few drops of yellow food coloring into the icing too so they screamed LEMON. Big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe was so good. I made them as part of my annual christmas baking but they didn't last that long. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
What a yummy "cookie". Its definitely cake-like not the consistency of a cookie. I did follow the recommendation to add more lemon extract to the cookie mix as well as I added some fresh lemon zest. This kicked the cookie up a notch. For the icing I added some more lemon extract and a bit more powdered sugar so it was more frosting-like and then I added yellow food coloring and garnished with yellow sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Boy ..makes ya wonder, some people never have anything nice to say about recipes they try...well, I want to say that these were great ..texture, ease of making, etc...so they may need a bit more lemon extract... tweak to taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANALS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States