Mrs. Fields Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING! The only bad thing about it was that people didn't believe me when I said that I made them myself. However, I did change the recipe a little by adding an extra 1/4 cup of sugar. As a little tip, I recommend that you put the dough in the freezer, instead of the refrigerator. Also, because the dough is somewhat sticky, I put ALOT of flour on the countertop before trying to roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I can't review this fairly because I followed one reviewers advice and upped the sugar and butter. The cookies were way too buttery and spread all over the sheet. I definitely would not us 1 and 1/2 cups butter. WAAAAAY too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I made these cookies yesterday for my children for a snack at school and they were a big hit. The whole house smelled of sugar and butter while the cookies were baking. One of my daughters teachers even commited to her how good the cookies looked and the smell of the cookies. I did however, follow the advice of some of the reviewers I used 2 1/2 cups of sugar and 1 1/2 cups of real butter. I added cinnamon , instead of the vanalla. Also I put the cookie dough in the frig over night. Floured my board alot, dough was a little sticky. And the dough rolled out great. I kept the oven tem. at the suggested 325, but I cooked the cookies for only 10 min. First 5 min.on the top rack and then 5 min. on the bottom rack. The cookies turned out a light golden color that were crisp on the out side edge and soft on the inside. I made the cookies thicker that what was suggested. I was able to make 36 heart shaped cookies from the dough. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This one will definately replace my old recipe, but they are not quite Mrs. Fields, I don't think. They are soft, yet firm enough to handle while decorating, and they really have a nice flavor. I think this is because this recipe does not call for shortening. I also think the trick to making these cookies the best they can be is: refridgerate till hard (1 hr 1/2), roll them out quickly, and maintain a 1/4 inch thickness. I rolled them out on parchment paper and then removed the scraps of dough around the cut outs. Then I placed my parchment on a baking stone. Add two minutes to your first batch, if using a stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
The cookies turned out great; not too sweet, and the perfect soft texture. I did have a little trouble rolling them out, next time I'll sandwich the dough between wax paper sheets to keep it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These cookies were very easy to make and taste great. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg into the flour mixture for a little extra flavour. I made the second batch of cookies about twice as thick as recommended and baked them at 350 for 13 minutes and they were nicer than the thinner ones. This dough is a bit sticky, so a well-floured surface, rolling pin, and cookie cutters is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
this is by far the best sugar cookie i have ever tasted! not even my husband could believe that i made them, since i am not a very good baker. easy enough to make and definatley worth the taste! thanks for sharing i will use this recipe for all of my sugar cookies like the halloween ones i will make today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This is a good recipe. I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar - the original didn't taste sweet enough to me. Roll them out thick and under-cook them just a bit. Also, they taste alot better with frosting. (But what doesn't)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
My dough turned out really gooey. I couldn't roll it or anything. I was so disappointed because all the other reviews were so good on this but it turned out terribly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I loved this recipe!!! It was so easy. I was looking for an easy sugar cookie recipe to make poodle shaped cookies. I tried this one and was very pleased. It kept the cookie cutter shaped and is one of the best sugar cookies I tasted. I even had a friend who said that she worked in a bakery and these sugar cookies were better than the bakery's. I decorated mine with colored sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States