Mrs. Fields Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Ok people, the KEY to this recipe is use REAL BUTTER. Do NOT use margarine! If you use margarine your dough will be sticky and gooey! Real butter will firm up again after you chill the dough in the fridge for an hour. You must chill the dough if you want to cut out your shapes. These cookies taste amazing though, and they are so easy. Just make sure you follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am suprised by all of the reviews saying the dough was sticky, mine was on the dry side, I am wondering if the people with sticky dough used margarine instead of butter? Mine came out perfect, they do not rise much so they do not distort cut tout shapes, I loved them so much they are now my #1 sugar cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fiddle Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have the hardest time making any cookie recipe work at my high altitude!Every step of the way this recipe was easy,stayed together,didnt need to be fiddled with,and was just a joy! This is PERFECT! My first try I doubled the recipe,and it is phenominal! Cookies are light and tender,and kept thier shape! AMAZING!!!!!! Thank you so much for a recipe I will keep for a very long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I added 1/8 cup extra of flour and 1/4 cup of sugar. Dough turned out great never had to put it in the refrig. After flouring the table before rollong it out it was perfect. Made my kids hand prints in them for Thanksgiving (to make turkeys) and it turned out great. It kept the shape and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These turned out beautifully. I can't wait to ice them They do not spread and hold shape. Followed directions and dough was a little crumbly. Added a little water worked it in and put back in refrig for another hour or so. Far superior to the more spopular sugar cookie recipe on this site. Thanks for a great cookie. I baked on the baking stones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Already great! But, add a tablespoon of honey and a hot chocolate packet. The taste makes you feel like you're riding on a cloud above the pacific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made this recipe when trying to find another sugar cookie recipe for my witches fingers (recipe on this site, too). The only other time I have made homemade cookies, they turned out horrible, so I wasn't expecting too much from this recipe either. But, to my surprise they turned out really good. Even my kids, who only eat choc. chip cookies, really liked them. As per other reviews, I did add an extra 1/4 C of sugar. And actually, I could have added a little more for my liking. I placed dough in freezer for about 30 minutes and then rolled out some of my dough for the witches fingers. The rest of the dough I just spooned out for regular round cookies. A really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is my go to sugar cookie recipe, but I made 2 modifications to the recipe that helped a lot. I rolled the cookies out on a mixture of powder sugar and a bit of flour on the board and rolling pin. I found if I only roll on flour the cookies become not sweet enough because as you roll the 'scraps' together you accumulate more and more flour. With a mixture of powder sugar and flour you avoid this. Also after I cut the cookies with cutters and place them on a cookie sheet, I put the cookie sheet in fridge or freezer for at least 10 minutes. Otherwise the dough will spread too much in oven and loose it's shape. If the dough is frozen when it goes into oven the cookies keep their shape perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I did not care for this recipe... They had no flavor and had a strange texture. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. Sometimes some sugar cookie recipes are crumbly and hard to use cookie cutters. But this one was perfect, and tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States