Mrs. Fields Cookie Recipe II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
A great recipe that delivers awesome chocolate chip cookies. A few additions to the recipe: 1. chill the chocolate bar before grating...simplifies the process. Use a food processor to expedite this part of the recipe. 2. make sure that the oats are ground completely. I usually empty the blender and add them again. 3. I find that people are just as happy without the nuts, and some people either can't eat nuts or hate them in cookies. Leaving out the nuts will improve overall acceptance. 4. It may be obvious to people who really know how to cook, but these cookies turn out much better when you hand mix the ingredients. Ok, maybe it's my own superstition, but I really believe this...stick your bar hands in there and really "feel the dough". 5. I always cool the dough before rolling into balls...it makes it easier to roll into balls, and the slighty chilled dough seems to improve the final shape of the cookies (no idea why, but seems to work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
the only chocolate chip recipe I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I've been making these cookies since the late 1980s. Always a major hit with anyone who eats them! The key to success is to not over bake them. Various stories have been attached to this recipe -- when I recevied it via e-mail long ago, the theory was the recipe cost someone $200 and they were getting "even" by passing it around. Who cares what urban legend is attached to this recipe -- the cookies are simply the best that I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
This recipe tastes great and is easy to make. I added a tablespoon of cocoa and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
Grating the chocolate takes FOREVER but these cookies are remarkably good. I can't figure out how long they need to be baked -- they seem like they could use more time when they come out, but later on harden a bit. Store with a slice of bread in closed container to keep moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
These cookies are the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is the one. I have tried to duplicate the Mrs. Fields recipe for years and finally have found "THE ONE". Absoutely delicious, moist and soft just like the real thing. I encourage everyone to try this recipe. There is nothing I would change about it. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These cookies are a pain to make, but definitely worth the effort. I bake often, and this is the most requested cookie of them all. Seeing as it's a double recipe, I've considered just making two separate batches at the same time to make it easier to handle the amount of dough this recipe yields. The bottom line here is that these cookies are time consuming to make, but are the best chocolate chip cookies I've found anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
These are the best cookies I've ever made! I added a few cups shredded coconut to the dough and a lot more chocolate chips than the recipe called for. I will make these again. Thanks for sharing such a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Soft, chewy and the grated choclate bar in there makes these my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States