Mrs. Fields Cookie Recipe II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These were a huge hit for Valentine's day- fabulous cookie. Crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside when baked for 9 minutes. I used about 1 Tbs per cookie and it made 119 cookies. Took a long time- I bake one tray at a time- but completely worth the end result. Used a blender for the oatmeal and it worked out fine. You will not be disappointed, but Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies is still our family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
The balls don't flatten during cooking, so flatten them with your hand or a spatula. And 9 minutes was perfect for my oven. I did one batch with half whole wheat flour and a-p flour and one with all 1-p flour and both were quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These were allright. Not what I was looking for, I guess. My fiance has been craving choc. chip cookies lately. Yesterday was our 1 yr. proposal anniversarry (we are getting married this fall!!), so I decided to surprise him w/ a batch of his favorite cookie. I was planning to try Mrs. Fields cookie I (it's been in my recipe box for a while), but the grated choc. in this recipe intrigued me, so I decided on this instead. FYI, Sonnia's recipe is IDENTICAL to Renee Kratz's urban legend cookie recipe, sans a few (minor) changes. The main difference b/t the two is how the oatmeal is used. I like it in powdered form better, but wouldn't use as much of it next time (I'd use more regular flour instead). Having said that, prep was a LOT of work, but worth the effort, IMHO. I 1/2'd this recipe, and b/c of that, only needed to "pulverize" 2.5 c. oatmeal. I found that add. in increments & using the liquefy (yes, liquefy) button on my KA mixer worked best. I only had semi-sweet choc. baking pcs. on hand, so I gave those a whirl (chop) in my blender too. I used my PC grater for my (COLD = easier to grate) choc. bars & it worked really well! And, I too mix. my dough by hand (no need to chill 1st). My only other ch. was to omit the nuts (don't like them) & use my 3 T scoop (which produced slightly lgr. than golf ball sized cookies). Baking for 9 min. & allowing to "rest" for 5 produced soft, chewy cookies. All in all, these were OK, but not better than plain choc. chip cookies. Thx., Sonia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
the cookie was okay. not awesome though. its too oatmeal-ey. after reading the reviews, i reduced the oatmeal by half a cup but it tasted too grainy and healthy. its more of an oatmeal cookie. and if you like oatmeal cookies, might as well not powderize the oats and use instant oats instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Its a great cookie, but for whatever reason it does not taste like the store bought cookies. The mrs fields website does not state using oatmeal in their cookies. Now while oatmeal makes a great cookie, it sounds like they use a blend of flour and not oatmeal. So these cookies taste much more like a Cookies by George... people out West may know these cookies. They are oatmeal chocolate and are prominent for their chocolate chunks on the top(middle) of the cookie. Very good recipe, oatmeal has a very strong texture and taste. I love it, but it makes it slightly different from Mrs Fields
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
LOVE THIS RECIPE! Family Fav and the kids don't know there is oatmeal in it! Just to let you know **1cup oats = 3/4 ground oats** (didn't read the instructions before I started grinding them ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Campbell Van Every

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Acequia, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I have been making these for years and everyone raves about them. The trick is to only bake them for 8-10 minutes. They will look like they are not done but once they have cooled they will be perfect. If not they will not taste good at all. A cookie scooper will make this a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. I have been making my cookies this way for many, many years and I just love them. Use a coffee grinder to powderize the oatmeal. So easy. I do about 1/2 cup at a time and dump into a bowl as I go. It literally takes a minute. The oatmeal really makes these special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These are very popular in our family and neighbourhoold - most requested recipe for the last 10 years. A handy shortcut is to chop the nuts and chocolate bar in food processor after or before the oats - not too finely though - save a bit of time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I have been using this recipe for years now. Everybody loves them! They are different than the boring recipe on the back of every bag of choc. chips. The picture shown doesn't give them justice - mine stay "plump". Highly recommend! Also, you can divide the recipe in half easily so that you don't make so many, and they freeze well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States