Mrs. Fields Cookie Recipe I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is one of my favorite cookie recipes. I've had to adjust the cooking times and temperature over the years to suit my stoves. I also substitute the chocolate chips for raisins and send them with my husband to work. They guys all love them and are always asking me for the recipe so that they can have them more often. When using chocolate chips, I use regular chocolate chips, rather then breaking up a chocolate bar. You can also use peanut butter chips or butterscotch chips to make a delicious treat for your entire family or special gathering. Trust me, your cookies will be the best at any event with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I came across this recipe while I was in a cooking class in Jr. High way back in the amazing year 1985. I'm glad I found it here so I can keep it the rest of my recipes on allrecipes.com. The story that I was told went something like this: there was this woman who went to Mrs. Fields and wanted the recipe and was charged $250 for it. She paid for it and was upset that it cost her so much money that she made copies of it and gave it to all her friends. One of her friends just happened to be my instructor. Right. I'm sure that all happened. Anyway, this recipe is great. In my most humble opinion, any one who has commented that this recipe isn't any good did something wrong. Maybe they over baked them, maybe they didn't grind the oatmeal in to a powder or maybe they didn't pack the brown sugar. Who knows? To those people I say, "try again". There's only one ingredient that I do a variation of in my cookies. That is, I never use chocolate "chips". I buy dark chocolate bars (whatever is on sale - Trader Joes has some large chocolate bars that work very well) and chop them up. I think by doing this you get a better flavor profile as well as cookies that look more custom due to all the different shapes of the chocolate pieces as opposed the same looking chocolate chips. That's my story. Try this recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Cookie has really good flavor. Texture is crunchy and crisp. Could be a little softer for my liking but over all a really good cookie. I ground the oatmeal in my coffee grinder and it was a fine powder It worked great ! Might add more butter and a little less brown sugar next time. Otherwise I loved it and they baked great on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
These were a HUGE hit! I replaced the chocolate chips with raisins and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon and they were the best most delectable oatmeal raisin cookies anyone who tried them has ever had. You will think they are not done after 10 minutes but, trust me, they will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This recipe made a delicious, chewy oatmeal cookie. I used white chocolate chips with some mini semi-sweet ones, and a splash of pecans. An extra step of grinding the oats, and rolling into golf balls, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is the cookie that my mother always made when I was growing up and my brothers and I always loved them, and the friends I make it for love them now too. The only exception we make is that we don't add the nuts. This is a good recipe to form into balls and freeze so when you want fresh cookies, all you have to do is put the dough on a sheet and bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
YUM!!! This is a great chocolate cookie recipe. Grinding the oats is KEY. They will not be the same if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made these gluten free by substituting Better Batter gluten free all purpose flour and Trader Joe's gluten free oats. They worked perfectly and were a hit by everyone, even the non-gluten restricted guests said they were stellar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K2 Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Two happy grandsons can attest that these cookies are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POUKALA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I wanted a recipe to mimic the flavor of Mrs. Field's because I needed to make a 12" round cookie cake for a family function, and they always rave about Mrs. Fields cookies. This recipe yielded a 12" "cake" and 20 extra cookies. The cookie "cake" was perfectly cooked in 20 minutes. Thanks for the delicious recipe. January 28, 2010: I made this again using a 17.25'x11.5'x1' cookie sheet/jelly roll pan and it came out great. I used parchment paper instead of greasing the pan. Cooking time remained the same at 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States