Mozzarella Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Excellent recipe! I added basil, parsley and a little oregano.I let everything simmer in the pan for 30 minutes, then added some flour to make a gravy... WHICH WAS FABULOUS!! I also cut the chicken into halves. It was EXCELLENT! We will definately have this dish again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley Bri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a good recipe. I have made this for years. I do it a bit differently. For step one use the same seasonings with a little flour to coat the chicken, and saute the breasts till golden. I remove the chicken to a plate. In the skillet, saute the mushrooms till tender. Then add 1C chicken broth, 1/3 C Marsalla wine. Simmer, scraping up any bits in the pan. Return the chicken and simmer till heated through. I top it with the cheese, put a lid on to melt it, then serve with linguini or a rice pilaf. Ladle the sauce with mushrooms over the cheese topped chicken It is a great variation. The recipe as is, is very flavorful, and with the light flavor of the wine sauce can really add to it. ***KimasWeiss**** I prefer this in the oven too. Follow the 1st step browning the seasoned & floured chicken. when done, put it in a baking dish. In the skillet saute mushrooms, onion if you like, then add the broth/wine and let it simmer till reduced about 1/4. Pour over the chicken and top with cheese. 25 mins @ 350 and your set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I added one onion (cook this before adding mushrooms) with the mushrooms. I also added a clove of garlic to this and salt and peppered it. Turns out better with a combination of EVOO and butter/margarine. After the mushrooms and onions are somewhat cooked I added the chicken. Make sure you don't overcook the chicken! I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper as well. Eyeball the cheese and sprinkle the cheese directly into the pan so it melts. Serve from the pan. I eat it with steamed white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I thought this was very tasty and easy. I took the advice of another reviewer and added fresh basil and parsley. I think that really made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I KNOW I SHOULD TRY AS RECIPE STATES FIRST BUT I COULDN'T HELP MYSELF- I KNOW THIS RECIPE AS STATED WOULD BE AWESOME THOUGH- BUT.... HERE'S MY CHANGES- PLEASE REMEMBER THAT I EAT LOW CARB, SO FAT IS NOT COUNTED- 4 BONELESS CHIC BREAST- POUNDED THEM- PLACED IN A BAKING DISH AND SALTED, PEPPERED, AND SMEARED ON MINCED GARLIC- LAID SMALL SLICES OF BUTTER ON TOP-LAID BACON ON TOP OF THAT (NOT HUGE AMOUNTS PEOPLE)- BAKED AT 350 UNTIL ALMOST COOKED- TURNED ON BROILER TO CRISP BACON- COVER IN MUSHROOMS THAT I HAD SAUTEED IN PAN WITH BUTTER AND COVERED WITH MOZZARELLA- RAN BACK UNTIL BROILER UNTIL MELTED- I DECIDED TO BAKE 'COZ ONCE YOU POUND 4 BREASTS ITS HARD TO COOK IN A SKILLET ALL AT ONCE- HOLY COW- IT WAS SO AWESOME AND TENDER- AND ACTUALLY BEAUTIFUL- THAT CHEESE UNDER THE BROILER STARTS TO JUST GET COLOR LIKE IT DOES ON A PIZZA- NICE PRESENTATION-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a huge hit. I made quite q few changes though. 1) I put 1/4 cup flour in a zip lock bag along with oregeno, parsely, basil, onion powder, garlic powder, garlic salt and black pepper. 2) I shook each piece of chicken in the bag to fully coat. 3) while the chicken was cooking for the first 12 minutes, I sautéd the mushrooms along with chopped onion and garlic. I will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Flattened the chicken breasts thin and then sauteed them in an olive oil/butter combination. Added more sliced mushrooms. Two cups of mozzarella cheese for two chicken breasts is ridiculous! Just eyeballed the amount that I thought would be appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
For a general meal, it's 4 stars- enjoyable but not the end all be all. But for a quick, easy meal- 5 stars. I added basil & oregano to the chicken seasonings. I used a 1.5 TB which was plenty. Definitely don't cook the chicken that long unless you have massively thick chicken. I did 3 mins/side and kept checking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
excellent!!! what a great dish! I added the basil, and parsley as previously suggested, plus the wine. I also added dried, chopped onion. Oh yummy! It makes a sorta sauce that is delicious served over the chicken. I used canned mushrooms, cause I didn't have fresh and it was just great! I also added pepper, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Quick, easy, and yummy. (We threw in a little wine for a bit of added flavor) We, too, will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States