Mozzarella Meat Whirl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was very good. I only did a couple of things different. I used shredded cheese (what I had on hand), I didnt add the water to the topping and added some horseradish and brown sugar to it (very tasty), and I poked holes in the top to give the cheese somewhere to go (its going to find a way out, so give it somewhere to go). The small amount of cheese that oozed out ended up on top of the meatloaf instead of the pan. Very nice change of pace for meatloaf. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I added 1 small minced onion, and garlic powder to this recipe. The other thing I would do would be to make sure the edges were sealed better because you do get some oozing out of the cheese. Also I would recommend cutting the water in half for the topping, and only putting on half as much topping altogether, because it runs off of the meat loaf and just ends up on the pan where it burns and makes it real hard to clean up. Other than that great taste, and with these few adjustments makes a great meal the family will absolutely love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This was very good. I did change one thing. Instead of ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, I used a prepared spaghetti sauce. The only problem that I had was that the cheese oozed out of the meat during the cooking process...I wish more of it would have stayed in the roll. But all in all, good and easy meal. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I added 1/2 of a minced onion and 1 green pepper (be sure to drain the liquid). I also added a pack of dried spices, used to marinate steak, to flavor the beef and give it some heat. I used 8x3 pans, so I had to break the beef into 2 pans (same temperature and baked for 1 hour). I used mozz with one pan and gouda with the other. There was a lot of liquid in the pans after cooking, due to the veggies added, but those were easy to pour off or just remove the meatloaf from the pan before serving it. We enjoyed the gouda cheese more than the mozz, but that's just personal preference. Also made my own homemade BBQ sauce for on top. I hardly ever use plain water in any recipe, why dilute the flavor of your food when you can enhance it. All in all, this recipe is a good base to build a great recipe. Mmmmmm, leftovers rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME! I usually dont like meatloaf and have never been successful with it. I recommend cooking it for about 15 minutes longer than it says that way it hold better to the knife. I used shredded cheese. When it says rectangle I rolled it out to about 18 inces long and about 8 inches wide. Pinch the ends together so the cheese doesn't melt out the sides and poke holes in top. Get creative with the cheeses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueyedraven83

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This would have quite bland on its own, so I added chopped onions, green peppers, Italian seasonings and garlic and onion powders. I also used marinara sauce instead of the catsup. Turned out great and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
OK, so before I say anything else - I forgot the bread crumbs (duh!) I realized it aftr everything was rolled but, believe it or not, it still turned out great. I did as other did and added some seasoning. The sauce gave it a nice kick and, luckily, still adding the egg kept it from just tasting like a big burger. I used shredded cheese and I think that made it easier to roll. I also put the wax paper on a cookie sheet so that I could use it as a form - worked GREAT. This was easy and fun to make with my 9 year old son, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This is the best meatloaf I've ever made. I hardly ever waste time making meatloaf, because our meatloaf has to have the right texture or we won't eat it. This one is perfect. It is very stout and not at all mushy. Maybe due to the lack of milk in the recipe? I did add garlic powder and chopped onion as recommended by other reviewers. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This was a very good. My family loved it. The only change I made was adding onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. It came out tastier than I imagined. I enjoyed how easy it was to make and how few ingredients I needed. Next time I make it, I will make sure to seal the edges or the roll since alot of the cheese "oozed" out while baking. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States