Mozzarella Meat Whirl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This was very good. I did change one thing. Instead of ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, I used a prepared spaghetti sauce. The only problem that I had was that the cheese oozed out of the meat during the cooking process...I wish more of it would have stayed in the roll. But all in all, good and easy meal. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This would have quite bland on its own, so I added chopped onions, green peppers, Italian seasonings and garlic and onion powders. I also used marinara sauce instead of the catsup. Turned out great and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
My family really liked this recipe, but I should have taken the advise of others that rated it and added garlic powder and onion to the meat prior to cooking. I think it would be perfect then. Will definitely make again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I usually don't care for the texture of most meatloaf but this one was nice and firm. I did add some onions and garlic to the meat mixture. I had bits and pieces of sliced and shredded mozzarella and swiss so I just used them all. It turned out yummy and we'll be having this one again. Thanks for the recipe, Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Ok, I grew up with a recipe very similar called Turkish Meat Roll. I personally think that this recipe needs a bit more spicing up with onion powder, garlic, etc. I also use crushed crackers instead of soft bread crumbs on occasion. I make sure to roll this up so that the seam is on the bottom because the cheese will ooze out if at all possible! I have also made this with swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is a really good meatloaf. Instead of mozzarella I used Havarti cheese, almost any cheese would be good. I mixed up half the amout of ketchup sauce, and it was still too much. I would use less water too, equal amounts of water and ketchup is too thin. This recipe is taking the place of my old standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
O.k. I made quite a few additions and it was very good. I added 1/4 c. minced onion, 1/4 c. parmegan cheese, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1-2 tsp. basil and used 2 eggs. Mixed meat together and spread pizza blend sheredded cheese and 1/4 c. chopped pepperoni in the center. I used this sauce. It was good, but felt it was too runny. If I used it again, I would add less water. I would also like to try pizza sauce on top too. Very good. Will made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This is the best meatloaf I've ever made. I hardly ever waste time making meatloaf, because our meatloaf has to have the right texture or we won't eat it. This one is perfect. It is very stout and not at all mushy. Maybe due to the lack of milk in the recipe? I did add garlic powder and chopped onion as recommended by other reviewers. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. It came out tastier than I imagined. I enjoyed how easy it was to make and how few ingredients I needed. Next time I make it, I will make sure to seal the edges or the roll since alot of the cheese "oozed" out while baking. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This was the best meatloaf I've ever made! It was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States