Mozzarella Basil Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This bread is absolutely delicious! I used fresh basil (triple the amount) since I have a seemingly endless supply in the garden. I otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I did have to add in at least an extra cup of flour during kneading. The recipe makes two LARGE loaves. My husband and oldest son loved this one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love herbed breads, so this recipe appealed to me. The mozzarella was just icing on the cake. I followed the recipe except for using 50/50 whole wheat and all purpose, so I added in some vital gluten. I did not add the salt directly to the yeast proofing solution, as that would have diminished the action of the yeast. Like Pam, I needed to add significantly more flour to obtain a workable dough - 2 cups more, in fact. It almost became too much for my stand mixer to handle kneading. I would have cut the recipe in half had it actually called for closer to that 6 cups of flour rather than just 4. There is a big difference between '4 cups or as needed' and 6 cups. I got two very large round loaves from this recipe. I found the flavor from the basil and cheese subtle, but pleasant, and the texture was beautiful. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This made an impressive, large loaf of bread with an excellent texture inside. The mozzarella made the loaf smell wonderful coming out of the oven. I made a half recipe and used almost 3 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
if i could give this recipe 100 stars i would!!i have made this bread at least 20 times and everytime it wows me..whenever i go to dinner at someone's house or have dinnerguests i bring/serve this bread and everyone is always amazed that i made this and didn't buy it at some fancy bakery!! the only thing i do differently is slice it lengthwise instead of in wedges, but this recipe is foolproof and needs no alteration..this bread also makes very good sandwiches spread with mayo and topped with sliced vine tomatoes and mozza cheese and put under the broiler!! the only negative i can say is that i need to buy bigger pants to fit my expanding waistline, as i could eat a whole loaf to myself in a day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I read all reviews about the addtional flour. Being in a warmish and humid part of the world, I tried out half of the recipe with 3/4 cup water, 2 cups of bread flour as a start, threw in a tablespoon of minced garlic and follow the rest of the instructions. During the kneading, I added another 1/3 cup of flour to get a more workable dough. I shaped them into 2 small loafs. The bread came out wonderful and aromatic, moist and flavourful. I served them with the Cream of Mushroom Soup I from this site. My kids and hubby raved over it. I gave it 4.5 stars because the flour to water proportion is off, otherwise, it is an easy and crowd pleasing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I caution that the flour to liquid ratio listed is off. I ended up using six cups of flour to mix and another half cup while I was kneeding to get to the right consistency. I put all ingedients except the mozzarella and basil into my bread machine and processed on the dough cycle. During the final mix I added the cheese and basil (fresh from the garden). I upped the cheese to almost two cups, but for some reason didn't up the total amount of basil used - I should have. I was a little leary of the baking temperature, but it was fine. I tented after about 10 minutes to keep the tops from getting too dark. This bread has a delicious flavor and I will be making again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This makes two ENORMOUS loaves of bread...which is wonderful! Like the other reviewers, I also found the amount of flour to be way off. I used almost 6 cups. Texture and flavor are wonderful- will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is really ,really GOOD bread! It smells so good baking!! It would be a great accompaniment for anything Italian, or a good soup too. We are loving this bread, I hope I have some left to serve with dinner, luckily this recipe makes 2 large loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Easy to make. I halved the recipe because I didn't want too much left over. Next time, I would add some garlic powder to intensify the flavour, and maybe brush the top with butter when I take it out of the oven. It was a lovely loaf, though, and went really well with our tortellini soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The portions of this recipe are WAY off (but it is still awesome)! I had to use *6* cups of flour! But that's an easy fix. That said this is a very tasty bread, the cheese and milk give the dough a moist and creamy flavor. I added a little extra basil, just because I had so much left over that I froze from my garden. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States