Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Can't figure out the big deal. First, I grew up making popcorn in a pan like this, and still do it all the time. An air popper is dry and microwave is full of trans fat and such. I also have put the butter into the pan for a long time, when I use butter. Except I agree with the person who said if you stick the butter in with the oil immediately, it just burns and doesn't work. You have to wait until it starts popping -- have it on like a knife ready to go. Wait until it's just getting a good pop going, but no longer or it won't melt right. Open the lid enough to get the knife through and just scrap it on the side and let it slide down. If it hasn't popped too much, it'll melt as it pops. Too soon and it burns, or just cools it down so it stops popping. Too late and it doesn't really melt. It can take a little practice to get it perfect. I've done this for years. (Though I don't have peanut oil around. And I absolutely will put more salt on anyway cause I'm unfortunately a salt-aholic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is good stuff. There's no reason to subject yourself to all the chemicals in microwave popcorn. I heated two TBLS cococut oil, and then added a few kernels. When those popped, I added the rest of the popcorn as well as the salt and butter, let it sit until the popping started, then shook the pan (with lid on) until it was done. Dump it immediately into a bowl so it doesn't burn and add any additional seasonings to taste. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Perfect blend of butter and salt, I make every weekend and put on a netflix, set a big bowl of movie star popcorn on the coffee table with a stack of soup bowls... and never have to dump out leftover popcorn! the whole gang loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriBoy Chicago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacheco, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My mom taught me that you have to vent the popcorn a little. Just lift the lid every so often, or keep it cocked open just a tiny bit. I also empty the popcorn into a paper grocery bag and sprinkle a bit of salt and shake to distribute the salt evenly. pour out into a large bowl. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Surprisingly when you consider all the stellar reviews, I was not impressed. It tastes like popcorn made by any other method (though the microwave variety contains that processed, fake-butter taste) at home. Because of the temperature the oil reaches, the butter molecules begin to burn, and the kernels were dotted with dark brown. I made both with vegetable oil and with coconut oil as suggested by another reviewer, and noted very little difference, if any, in taste. It's not bad in any way, just OK, but definitely nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is a classic and is great! I did sprinkle a little black pepper on it (something I've always loved) but this is just a personal preference and the recipe is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
My Sons Loved this..Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this last night, while watching the Oscars with my family. DELICIOUS. Worked very well in my electric popper. I used 2 TBSP of sunflower oil instead of the peanut oil, and coarse sea salt. Needed just a pinch more salt once popped but nothing else. It will be our "go to" popcorn recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bitsybites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is great popcorn! I used olive oil due to a peanut allergy. Also used fine popcorn salt, no extra needed. So easy to add the butter before popping. No soggy popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is the best popcorn i have ever had. The grandkids agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States