Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I don't know why anyone makes microwave popcorn, when the stove top method is easy and so much better. I make it like Lisa Douglas (review below) - canola oil, throw in a couple of kernels and wait until they pop and then throw in the remainder. Because the oil is at the popping temperature, there is little need to shake it - just a couple times and within a minute or two your popcorn is ready. I also keep flavored salts on hand - like cheddar cheese, to shake on top once it's done. Cheap and way better than the micro. If you find your popcorn doesn't pop well, try this: add a tablespoon or two of water to your container of popcorn, shake it up and let it absorb for a day or two. The moisture in the kernels is what makes it pop. Edit: I have to make a revision. Although Canola oil generally is healthier, high heati creates trans fats which are BAD for you. Peanut oil is a better choice because it has a higher smoke point. (Coconut oil, while having a high smoke point, is high in saturated fats and one of the unhealthiest.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is okay, but using coconut oil is way better tasting! That's exactly how movie theaters used to make it. You can find coconut oil in the Asian section of the grocery store, and sometimes in health food stores. It's white and firm at room temp, but it melts very easily and the second you smell it you'll be time-warped back to your childhood, and your friends will pledge their loyalty forever. The brand of popping corn you use is key too - definitely go with the higher quality brand in a jar. (you know, from the guy with the funny name)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This way of making popcorn was great! After making three batches of popcorn, we ended up changing/doing the following: The total amount of oil/butter in the recipe is 5 Tbs. Our boys like extra butter flavor, so we used only 1 Tbs. of oil and then used 4 Tbs. butter (we use Earth’s Balance non-hydrogenated vegan ‘butter’). The larger amount of butter to oil gave us the stronger buttery taste we wanted. Since I have always used ½ tsp. of salt for every ½ cup of corn, I added all salt at once, along with the corn and 4 Tbs. (1/4 cup) butter. Melting and cooking the butter right in the pot was great. Having the extra oil in the pot - instead of pouring it over the finished popcorn - prevented the corn from burning – a great tip! As the recipe said, I took the pot off the stove when the kernel pops were about 2 seconds apart - no burning or sticking! Another great tip! We like to stir in nutritional yeast flakes (available at health-food stores) before eating. It gives a nice ‘cheesy’ flavor and is very nutritional. I now have a new way to make popcorn! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Kunz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I make this style of popcorn all the time using vegetable oil. This recipe is amazing I never thought about adding butter or salt to the pot and the peanut oil gives a better flavor then vegetable oil. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I could live off of this popcorn. I like canola oil best and omit the butter. I let the pot heat, add the oil and three kernals of corn, add the remaining corn after the first three pop, and shake, shake, shake. I only use 2 T of oil; I have non-stick pots, don't know if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We eat popcorn all the time...great CHEAP snack food that our grandchildren love! You may want to check into a whirly whirl popcorn cooker. It has a wire spinner that you turn as the popcorn cooks. It is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Perfect blend of salt & butter! Best stovetop popcorn I've had yet. We make this recipe over and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Wonderful! I made it with Coconut Oil rather than peanut oil, and sprinkled it with Nutritional Yeast before serving. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Delicious!!! I will never make microwave popcorn again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I really like the flavor of the peanut oil. Also, I use unsalted butter. I am not big on salty things. My batch started burning so I will have to practice. The top was still good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States