Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I love stove top popcorn. It is just as easy as microwave and it tastes much better. The peanut oil adds extra flavor and it doesn't cause cancer like the imitation butter flavoring in microwave popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I make this style of popcorn all the time using vegetable oil. This recipe is amazing I never thought about adding butter or salt to the pot and the peanut oil gives a better flavor then vegetable oil. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I really like the flavor of the peanut oil. Also, I use unsalted butter. I am not big on salty things. My batch started burning so I will have to practice. The top was still good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
All I can say is YUMMY! I will never do micro popcorn again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dinuba, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is okay, but using coconut oil is way better tasting! That's exactly how movie theaters used to make it. You can find coconut oil in the Asian section of the grocery store, and sometimes in health food stores. It's white and firm at room temp, but it melts very easily and the second you smell it you'll be time-warped back to your childhood, and your friends will pledge their loyalty forever. The brand of popping corn you use is key too - definitely go with the higher quality brand in a jar. (you know, from the guy with the funny name)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I could live off of this popcorn. I like canola oil best and omit the butter. I let the pot heat, add the oil and three kernals of corn, add the remaining corn after the first three pop, and shake, shake, shake. I only use 2 T of oil; I have non-stick pots, don't know if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
My family loves this. It is better than the movies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This way of making popcorn was great! After making three batches of popcorn, we ended up changing/doing the following: The total amount of oil/butter in the recipe is 5 Tbs. Our boys like extra butter flavor, so we used only 1 Tbs. of oil and then used 4 Tbs. butter (we use Earth’s Balance non-hydrogenated vegan ‘butter’). The larger amount of butter to oil gave us the stronger buttery taste we wanted. Since I have always used ½ tsp. of salt for every ½ cup of corn, I added all salt at once, along with the corn and 4 Tbs. (1/4 cup) butter. Melting and cooking the butter right in the pot was great. Having the extra oil in the pot - instead of pouring it over the finished popcorn - prevented the corn from burning – a great tip! As the recipe said, I took the pot off the stove when the kernel pops were about 2 seconds apart - no burning or sticking! Another great tip! We like to stir in nutritional yeast flakes (available at health-food stores) before eating. It gives a nice ‘cheesy’ flavor and is very nutritional. I now have a new way to make popcorn! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Kunz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Perfect blend of salt & butter! Best stovetop popcorn I've had yet. We make this recipe over and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is by far the best popcorn recipe I've come across! It has lots of flavor without being too greasy and stays nice and crisp. I followed the ingredients list, but divided the recipe in half, which was just enough for two. This is a keeper and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States